4 Generations of Miles

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
4 Generations of Miles 1:08:33 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 There Is No Greater Love 9:40 96/24 Album only
2 All Blues 7:01 96/24 Album only
3 On Green Dolphin Street 7:39 96/24 Album only
4 Blue in Green 6:59 $2.49 Buy
5 81 6:54 $2.49 Buy
6 Freddie Freeloader 6:45 $2.49 Buy
7 My Funny Valentine 9:29 96/24 Album only
8 If I Were a Bell 8:39 96/24 Album only
9 Oleo 5:27 $2.49 Buy

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

The night of May 12, 2002, may go down as another important milestone on the timeline of legendary jazz trumpeter Miles Davis. Four musicians, each representing a different Miles Davis band from his ever-evolving career, came together at the club Makor in New York City to do what everybody said couldn't be done—effectively fuse together elements of the radically different styles that Miles embodied over his 45 years of professional performance.

Main Artists Miles Davis, Ron Carter, Jimmy Cobb, Earl Coleman, George Coleman
Ron Carter, acoustic bass
Jimmy Cobb, drums
Mike Stern, electric guitar

Producer David Chesky
Executive Producer Norman Chesky
Co-Producer Charles Carlini, Lisa Hershfield
Engineer Rick Eckerle, Phillip Sztenderowicz
Editing Engineer Nicholas Prout
Mastering Engineer Nicholas Prout
Recorded May 12, 2002.

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

4 Generations of Miles (JD238)
Chesky Records
Track Listing:

  1. There Is No Greater Love (Isham Jones/Marty Symes)
  2. All Blues (Miles Davis)
  3. On Green Dolphin Street (Bronislaw Kaper/Ned Washington)
  4. Blue in Green (Miles Davis/Bill Evans/Bronislaw Kaper/Ned Washington)
  5. 81 (Ron Carter/Miles Davis)
  6. Freddie Freeloader (Miles Davis)
  7. My Funny Valentine (Lorenz Hart/Richard Rodgers)
  8. If I Were a Bell (Frank Loesser)
  9. Oleo (Sonny Collins)

Genre: jazz
Liner notes by Chip Stern.
Photography by Dirk Vandenberk.
Art Direction by Aldo Sampieri.

"The program is made up of staples . . . but the vitality with which they're delivered proves that, in the hands of genuinely creative artists, even the most well-worn selections can sound fresh." - Stereophile