7 Black Butterflies

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
7 Black Butterflies 59:38 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Rhinoceros [Drew Gress] 8:32 44.1/16 Album only
2 Bright Idea [Drew Gress] 8:58 44.1/16 Album only
3 New Leaf [Drew Gress] 5:55 $1.49 Buy
4 Zaftig [Drew Gress] 8:45 44.1/16 Album only
5 Bas Relief [Drew Gress] 1:04 $1.49 Buy
6 Blue On One Side [Drew Gress] 6:24 $1.49 Buy
7 Wing & Prayer [Drew Gress] 6:19 $1.49 Buy
8 Low Slung/High Strung [Drew Gress] 9:06 44.1/16 Album only
9 Like It Never Was [Drew Gress] 4:35 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

New York bassist Drew Gress proves on 7 Black Butterflies that he is an exciting force to be reckoned with in today's avant garde jazz scene. Not only are his talents as a musician showcased here, but the fact that all tracks on 7 Black Butterflies are composed and arranged by Gress himself is testament to his writing strengths and ability as a successful band leader. Gress's quintet is comprised of some of the most talented avant garde musicians around who clearly enjoy playing off one another. The quintet includes trumpeter Ralph Alessi, fellow New Yorker Tim Berne on alto sax, Tom Rainey on drums and Craig Taborn on piano. Once those first notes are unleashed you'll know you stumbled onto something special. From the gradual 'buzz', 'pluck' and 'screeching' introduction of the opener "Rhinoceros," to the hard bop drive of "Bright Idea," to the bass centered "Bas Relief," to the free flowing highlight "Low Slung/ High Strung," 7 Black Butterflies is a worthwhile flight into the void, a sonic journey not to be missed.

"Drew Gress throws his contender for your's best in with 7 Black Butterflies, a crackling collection uniting a stellar cast who live up to their reputations....between nasty multi-time grooves and satisfying reveries, 7 Black Butterflies convincingly applies for a long-term residency in your CD player."