Available in Audiophile 48kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
8:18 43:39 $20.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Gloom 3:45 48/24 Album only
2 Rumors 3:02 48/24 Album only
3 First Sight 3:34 48/24 Album only
4 War 3:02 48/24 Album only
5 8:18 2:13 48/24 Album only
6 Sailor's Prayer 3:52 48/24 Album only
7 Care More 3:14 48/24 Album only
8 Martyrs 3:28 48/24 Album only
9 Black & Blue 3:48 48/24 Album only
10 Transgress 3:35 48/24 Album only
11 Number Eleven 3:15 48/24 Album only
12 Home For Grave 3:24 48/24 Album only
13 In Heart 3:27 48/24 Album only

Price as configured: $20.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2013 Roadrunner Records, Inc.


The passionately inspired band’s brand new album for Roadrunner Records, cryptically titled 8:18, embodies an unflinching, uncompromising authenticity born from revelatory introspection and obsessive workmanship. The dichotomies are refreshing, invigorating and boundless. There’s an oppressive, suffocating darkness to their heavy music, counterbalanced by the hope within their collective faith. The most brutal of crowd-moving breakdowns ignite with friction, bristling against soaring melodies, progressive yet catchy riffing and keyboard soaked atmospheric esotericism. To put it simply: The Devil Wears Prada have developed the chops, the cred and the audience of a true-blue thinking person’s heavy metal band, while simultaneously welcoming fist-pumping hellraisers and youthful moshers alike. 8:18 continues the war against humanity’s dark urges, pointing the finger inward and outward through a medium that is itself both bleak and grand.

"Much of the heavy music around us suffers from a total lack of emotion. It's sort of losing an audible sense of sincerity," observes vocalist Mike Hranica. "The guitars, the drums, the songs themselves create that sorrow that I want the lyrics to tell on 8:18. And I made sure that my vocals created emotions that I have heard in post-hardcore, but that I rarely hear in breakdown-heavy metal bands like us."

Guitarist Chris Rubey concurs. "If I listen to the title track and I'm in the right mood, I will tear up because of the lyrics and vibe of the song," he confesses. "What Mike is saying with all of his lyrics on this album is extremely powerful."

The overriding theme on 8:18 is misery, exploring that mental and emotional state through its various guises, manifestations and interpretations. Tracks like Gloom, War, Black & Blue and Home for Grave spring forth from that foundation, exploiting concepts like mediocrity, existential angst and life's bigger questions under an atmosphere of musical dread, hostility and darkness.