A Beautiful Day

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
A Beautiful Day 1:01:58 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Divine Revelation 8:22 44.1/16 Album only
2 Faded Beauty 11:32 44.1/16 Album only
3 Bellezza 8:47 44.1/16 Album only
4 5 Mo 6:46 $1.49 Buy
5 New Pinnochio 7:39 44.1/16 Album only
6 J Di 5:54 $1.49 Buy
7 A Beautiful Day 11:48 44.1/16 Album only
8 11-8 1:10 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Recorded live at New York City’s famed Birdland in January of 2002, Hill’s larger ensemble melds in a very gradual, seemingly unconscious process of assimilation and divergence. The result – as always with Hill – is energetic, moody, stark, elegant and poignant music that continues floating in the listener’s mind long after the CD has ended. Hill composed and arranged all eight tracks of A Beautiful Day, except for “Divine Revelation”, which was arranged by Ron Horton.

The Andrew Hill Big Band is comprised of all but one member of the Point of Departure Sextet (so named for one of Hill’s best-known Blue Note albums) – saxophonists Marty Ehrlich and Greg Tardy; trumpeter Ron Horton; and backbone bassist Scott Colley. The young, compelling drummer Nasheet Waits sits in for Billy Drummond.