A Cappella Dreams

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit & 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
A Cappella Dreams 55:36 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I Have a Dream 5:52 $2.49 Buy
2 There's a Train 3:49 $2.49 Buy
3 In The Ghetto 2:34 $2.49 Buy
4 She's A Lady 3:57 $2.49 Buy
5 Don't 3:31 $2.49 Buy
6 Good Luck Charm 3:01 $2.49 Buy
7 Ain't No Sunshine 3:26 $2.49 Buy
8 Dock of the Bay 3:33 $2.49 Buy
9 The Clock 2:28 $2.49 Buy
10 Steal Away 2:42 $2.49 Buy
11 When She Was My Girl 3:46 $2.49 Buy
12 Rainy Night in Georgia 5:24 $2.49 Buy
13 Please Send Me Someone to Love 3:09 $2.49 Buy
14 Peace in the Valley 4:53 $2.49 Buy
15 When the Saints Go Marching In 3:31 $2.49 Buy

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

The Persuasions have logged some serious miles driving from town to town over the years to deliver their a cappella message. To amuse themselves on the road, they sing old favorites: songs they perform in their shows, their own versions of songs of the day, and, of course, the good old stuff they've known since they were kids. This disc boasts the good stuff, including covers of Elvis Presley, Bill Withers and Otis Redding. Each selection is a song the band has known and jammed on and thought about for many years, over a lot of rough roads.


Main Artists The Persuasions
Michelle Hutcherson - vocals (background)
Dawn Tallman - vocals (background)
Barbara Tucker - vocals (background)

Producer David Chesky
Executive Producer Norman Chesky
Co-Producer Jerry Lawson, Matthew Epstein, Lisa Hershfield
Engineer Rick Eckerle, Barry Wolifson
Assistant Engineer Phillip Sztenderowicz
Editing Engineer Nicholas Prout
Mastering Engineer Nicholas Prout
Recorded February 17-20, 2003.

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

A Cappella Dreams (JD251)
Chesky Records
Track Listing:

  1. I Have a Dream (K.P. Burke/Solomon Burke)
  2. There's a Train (Sherman Holmes)
  3. In The Ghetto (Paul Anka/Mac Davis)
  4. She's A Lady (Paul Anka/J Mascis)
  5. Don't (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
  6. Good Luck Charm (Mac Davis/Wally Gold/Aaron Schroeder)
  7. Ain't No Sunshine (William Beck/Leroy “Sugarfoot” Bonner/Marshall “Rock” Jones/Ralph Middlebrooks/Marvin Pierce/Clarence “Satch” Satchell/James Williams/Bill Withers)
  8. Dock of the Bay (Otis Redding/Bill Withers)
  9. The Clock (John Alexander/Marc Blatte/Larry Gottlieb/David Mattis)
  10. Steal Away (Jimmy Hughes)
  11. When She Was My Girl (Lawrence Gottlieb/Tony Joe White)
  12. Rainy Night in Georgia (Tony Joe White)
  13. Please Send Me Someone to Love (Steve Cropper/Percy Mayfield/Otis Redding)
  14. Peace in the Valley (Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey/Percy Mayfield)
  15. When the Saints Go Marching In

Genre: R&B
Liner notes by Wesley Phillips.
Photography by Janette Beckman.

The Persuasions continue to be the most significant A Cappela group recording today, having firmly established their credentials through the years on some mighty important releases. The recent Grateful Dead and Beatles CDs were brilliant. But this one is closer to home, in more ways than one. We get a greatest hits package of Memphis and Stax-style soul music. - D. Sean Brickell