A Clear Midnight - Kurt Weill And America

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
A Clear Midnight - Kurt Weill And America 1:08:06 $20.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Mack The Knife 04:31 96/24 Album only
2 Alabama Song 04:07 96/24 Album only
3 Your Technique 04:53 96/24 Album only
4 September Song 06:50 96/24 Album only
5 This Is New 05:32 96/24 Album only
6 River Chanty 04:49 96/24 Album only
7 A Clear Midnight 05:47 96/24 Album only
8 A Noisless Patient Spider 07:03 96/24 Album only
9 Beat! Beat! Drums! 04:19 96/24 Album only
10 Little Tin God 06:38 96/24 Album only
11 Speak Low 08:51 96/24 Album only
12 Great Big Sky 04:46 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $20.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2015 ECM Records GmbH under exclusive license to Universal Music Classics, a Division of UMG Recordings, Inc.

Pianist Julia Hülsmann and singer Theo Bleckmann, in a first – and long-awaited - collaborative recording, celebrate the “unsung Weill” alongside the master’s best-loved works including “Mack The Knife”, “Speak Low” and “September Song”, adding also Julia’s settings of Walt Whitman, with whom Kurt Weill felt an affinity. The project came together at the instigation of the Kurt Weill Festival in Dessau in 2013 and since then has gained new life on the road and been fine-tuned in this studio recording made in Oslo in June 2014 with Manfred Eicher as producer.

It marks a musical advance for the Hülsmann group at a number of levels, and these recastings of Weill open up new imaginative possibilities for the players. English trumpeter and flugelhornist Tom Arthurs, who made his debut with Hülsmann on In Full View is fully integrated on A Clear Midnight. Often his trumpet doubles or underpins Bleckmann’s singing, giving a new colour to the vocals. As for Theo Bleckmann, this is the sensitive vocalist’s first ECM appearance as jazz singer, although he has recorded twice for the label as a member of the Meredith Monk ensemble on “Mercy” and “Impermanence”.

Recorded June 2014 at the Rainbow Studio in Oslo, Norway.

Julia Hülsmann - piano
Tom Arthurs - trumpet, flugelhorn
Marc Muellbauer - double bass
Heinrich Köbberling - drums
Theo Bleckmann - vocals

Producer: Manfred Eicher
Recording engineer: Jan Erik Kongshaug