A Kiss In the Dark

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit, 96kHz/24bit, 44.1kHz/16bit, DSD 2.8MHz & DSD 5.6MHz

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
A Kiss In the Dark 53:26 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Ain't We Got Fun 04:04 192/24 Album only
2 Whip-poor-will 04:32 192/24 Album only
3 Do You Ever Think Of Me 03:47 192/24 Album only
4 Limehouse Blues 03:46 192/24 Album only
5 Chicago, that Toddlin' Town 03:16 192/24 Album only
6 Bimini Bay 05:00 192/24 Album only
7 Nobody Knows You When You are Down and Out 02:47 192/24 Album only
8 After You've Gone 03:44 192/24 Album only
9 There's a Broken for Every Light on Broadway 04:33 192/24 Album only
10 A Kiss in the Dark 02:36 192/24 Album only
11 Indian Summer 04:10 192/24 Album only
12 Turn Back the Universe and Give Me Yesterday 03:37 192/24 Album only
13 Let the Rest of the World Go By 03:40 192/24 Album only
14 Till We Meet Again 03:54 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2014 Chesky Records

The darkly alluring, deep ­toned voice that embraces these timeless melodies from the parlor song era and Tin Pan Alley days (roughly 1910 to the early 1920s) belongs to the wonderful Alexis Cole. Called “one of the great voices of today”, Alexis has been compared to classic jazz singers such as Sarah Vaughan and Anita O’Day. Cole is the recipient of a Swing Journal Gold Disc award, and has won the NY Jazzmobile and Montreux Jazz Festival vocal competitions.

This time out, she goes further back in time with her quartet of guitarist Saul Rubin, saxophonist­/clarinetist Dan Block, bassist Pat O’Leary and drummer Phil Stewart to a more genteel time when sheet music was the most common method of dissemination of popular tunes. With her relaxed style, clear articulation, unhurried, conversational approach and all­knowing sense of cool, Cole and her crew strike a swinging accord on nuggets like “Ain’t We Got Fun,” “Bimini Bay,” “Whip­poor­will,” the buoyantly swinging title track and ten other tunes from yesteryear in this engaging retro revue. Everything goes down nice ‘n’ easy on this luxurious outing, and Alexis delivers with timeless charm from track to track.

Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band and singer appear right before you with this spacious, lush and multi­dimensional recording. You will hear some of the most natural and pure vocals ever recorded of a jazz singer.

Recorded December 19, 2013 at the Hirsch Center in Brooklyn, New York.

Alexis Cole - vocals
Dan Block - saxophone, clarinet
Saul Rubin - guitar
Pat O'Leary - bass
Phil Stewart - drums

Producer: David Chesky
Recording, editing and mastering engineer: Nicholas Prout
Assistant recording engineer: Mor Mezrich 

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

Recorded using a B&K Binaural head, MSB A/D Converter, and Crystal microphone cable.

"While her quartet...settles into an appropriately mellow, old-time groove, Cole resets her warm contralto a shade or two lower. Cole's seems coy and clever." - JazzTimes