Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Alive 1:14:52 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Alive (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 9:040 96/24 Album only
2 Wanderer (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 9:00 96/24 Album only
3 Dreamer (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 8:32 96/24 Album only
4 Seeker (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 7:26 96/24 Album only
5 Player (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 9:13 96/24 Album only
6 Warrior (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 9:00 96/24 Album only
7 Firefly (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 7:32 96/24 Album only
8 Spirit (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 8:16 96/24 Album only
9 Life Goes On (feat. Anthony Jackson & Simon Phillips) 6:49 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2014 Telarc International, a division of Concord Music Group, Inc.

The major characteristics of life include birth, growth, movement, awareness, adaptation and death. And ever since she emerged on the scene in 2003, Hiromi has been one of the most profound and prolific living forces in 21st century music. The Japanese pianist/composer has created music that grows with every performance, moves easily beyond stylistic genres, exhibits an awareness of the entire jazz tradition and adapts to the contributions of her fellow bandmates. So it's only apropos that her latest recording, set for release on Telarc, a division of Concord Music Group, is entitled Alive.

Her ninth CD as a leader, Alive, heralds the return of Hiromi's Trio Project, featuring contrabass guitarist Anthony Jackson (Steely Dan, Paul Simon, Michel Camilo, The O'Jays and Chick Corea) and drummer Simon Phillips (Toto, The Who, Judas Priest, David Gilmour and Jack Bruce). This terrific triad, which DownBeat magazine proclaimed as "one of the most exciting groups working in any genre today," first formed in 2011 and recorded their first CD, Voice, that year, followed by Move in 2013. On Alive, Phillips' powerful, yet poetic percussion and Jackson's flowing, glow-in-the-dark basslines beautifully buoy and support Hiromi's ingenious and impassioned improvisations. Her evocative and expansive compositions evoke the myriad moods and mysteries of life and reveal the soulful, syncopated simpatico of her thrilling threesome.

"Alive has a double meaning for me," Hiromi says. "I wanted to write songs that deal with things and emotions that we encounter in life. But the word Alive can also mean ‘played live.' I've been performing with Simon and Anthony for four years. We've made three records together, and we've done so many live shows as a trio. We have a great time being adventurous, and I felt that we can make the record sound like a live recording in front of the audience."

Recorded February 5-7, 2014 at Avatar Studios, Studio A in New York, New York.

Hiromi - piano
Anthony Jackson - contrabass guitar
Simon Phillips - drums

Producers: Hiromi and Michael Bishop
Recording engineers: Michael Bishop and Ian Dobie (assistant)
Mixing and mastering engineer: Michael Bishop