All The Ghosts

Available in Audiophile 44.1kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
All The Ghosts 33:45 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 So Worn Out 3:36 44.1/24 Album only
2 Annie's Yellow Bag 3:54 $2.49 Buy
3 Lorelei 3:39 44.1/24 Album only
4 My Narrow Man 3:37 44.1/24 Album only
5 Jane Into A Beauty Queen 3:04 44.1/24 Album only
6 Put Your Mouth Where Your Money Is 4:42 $2.49 Buy
7 Nataliya 2:59 44.1/24 Album only
8 My Mini And Me 4:34 44.1/24 Album only
9 Some Days I Forget 3:40 44.1/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2009 Naim Audio Ltd.

Gwyneth's latest smorgasbord of musical musings, All The Ghosts, takes her music further down her own idiosyncratic path. It carries ten terrific songs, which speak to you directly, without forethought for genre or category. In their melodic immediacy and observational characterisation, you might hear the Lennon-McCartney of "Sgt. Pepper", or the Ray Davies of "Lola", rather than any jazz stereotype.

The songs are populated by a living, breathing cast of beaten-down dreamers, jaded city-dwellers, and women in a quandary. There is a beautiful prostitute with a split lip, pining to be free to return to mother Russia. There is also a wicked, myth-enshrouded temptress, luring in young men with drink and drugs. And there is a Mini, the same age as the singer, as human and ‘real' in its wheezing everyday tasks as any of the other folk. These, simply, are songs about people, about life, as the singer has precociously learnt to understand them at her tender age.

Recorded in a live studio environment at Peter Gabriel's Real World Studios, near Bath, Gwyneth and her faithful and accomplished quartet spent only two days laying the songs down. "It's a beautiful place, in the middle of nowhere - no distractions, amazing food, and lots of red wine. We wanted to revisit the whole concept of recording live. It was pretty much all done that way, everyone in one room, with basic separation, and no overdubs."

Says Gwyneth, "Like on ‘Wardrobe', you'll hear finger-tapping noises, or somebody drop a drumstick halfway through. There's a couple of weird pitching things with my voice, but I didn't want to sacrifice the vibe of the whole thing, for some idea of perfection. Musically, too, there's a lot more clunks and clatters. It's more percussive and driving."

‘All The Ghosts' is very much an ensemble piece, and sees Herbert's current combo - Al Cherry (gtr), Sam Burgess (bass), Steve Holness (piano and keys - "in his case, Bob really is your uncle!") and Dave Price (percussion) - hitting upon some inventive and often strange new sounds. Price, in particular, has amassed an armoury of oddball rhythm instruments, which include a cajon, or a "stool drum". He also bangs a gong on a couple of tracks. All the strange boings and crashes sometimes recall Tom Waits.

Gwyneth now feels embroiled in the arts of songcraft, from the wry portraiture of mid-'60s beat-poppers, to the arcane traditions of folk and blues. The songs present a lurid assortment of outsider characters, most of them women. Gwyneth Herbert's songs will enchant anyone who gets to hear them.