Angelus Novus

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Angelus Novus 29:07 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 For Your Eyes Only [John Zorn] 8:22 44.1/16 Album only
2 Christabel part 1 [John Zorn] 2:32 $1.49 Buy
3 Christabel part 2 [John Zorn] 2:25 $1.49 Buy
4 Carny [John Zorn] 7:43 44.1/16 Album only
5 Angelus Novus peshat [John Zorn] 1:20 $1.49 Buy
6 Angelus Novus tzomet [John Zorn] 0:56 $1.49 Buy
7 Angelus Novus aliya [John Zorn] 2:50 $1.49 Buy
8 Angelus Novus herut [John Zorn] 1:09 $1.49 Buy
9 Angelus Novus pardes [John Zorn] 1:50 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

John Zorn has shown us many sides of his eclectic musical vision (some may think too many), but here is a side of Zorn's work that has pretty much remained hidden - his compositions for classical chamber ensembles. This CD marks the first in a series documenting these pieces, commissioned by some of the world's leading ensembles and appearing on CD for the first time.

The works here span over twenty years, and include Christabel, a student piece written in 1972 inspired by the romantic mystic poetry of Samuel Taylor Coleridge, the wind octet Angelus Novus composed for the world-renown Netherland's Wind Ensemble and dedicated to the Jewish cultural theorist Walter Benjamin, the dynamic chamber symphony For Your Eyes Only and Carny, a virtuosic solo piece that receives an impassioned and breathtaking performance by pianist Stephen Drury.

The Callithumpian Consort of the New England Conservatory (conducted by Stephen Drury) perform this challenging music with startling clarity and intensity on this CD that will surprise and delight Zorn fans and detractors alike.

Review Coming soon...