Ash Wednesday

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Ash Wednesday 51:13 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 While You Were Sleeping 6:22 $1.49 Buy
2 All The Night Without Love 3:13 $1.49 Buy
3 May Day ! 5:03 $1.49 Buy
4 Moon Woman II 4:27 $1.49 Buy
5 It's Only Me 4:01 $1.49 Buy
6 Emile's Vietnam In The Sky 3:01 $1.49 Buy
7 Ash Wednesday 6:33 $1.49 Buy
8 The Night & The Liquor 4:46 $1.49 Buy
9 It's A Sad World After All 4:14 $1.49 Buy
10 Sleep Sandwich 4:13 $1.49 Buy
11 Good Friday 5:20 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Personnel: Elvis Perkins (vocals, guitar); Levi Person (bottleneck guitar); Antoine Silverman (fiddle); Brigham Brough (double bass); Gary Mallaber (drum); Janeen Rae Heller.

Elvis Perkins is the son of film star Anthony Perkins, who passed away from AIDS-related complications, and photographer Berry Berenson, who died in the September 11th attacks. If tragedy begets great art, Elvis Perkins certainly has plenty of real-life material for his tales of heartbreak and sorrow. On his first album, ASH WEDNESDAY, Perkins crafts brooding, reflective songs that manage to be heartrendingly sad yet still hopeful. Relying on softly strummed guitar chords over simple, understated arrangements, the music lends support to Perkins's earnest, fragile voice--a soft whisper that boils in intensity to a crackling falsetto. Coupled with surprisingly lush orchestral arrangements that move the album past folk towards flowery pop, ASH WEDNESDAY is a stunning debut from a rising young star.

(A) beautiful debut ¦ Perkins is often downbeat but in a surreal, impressionistic way - ROLLING STONE