Astrognosia & Aesop

Available in Audiophile 352kHz/24bit, 192kHz/24bit & 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Astrognosia & Aesop 51:24 $30.00
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Astrognosia: Preludium - Manen 02:07 352/24 Album only
2 Astrognosia: Aries - Vaeren 01:09 352/24 Album only
3 Astrognosia: Taurus - Tyren 01:30 352/24 Album only
4 Astrognosia: Gemini - Tvillingene 01:43 352/24 Album only
5 Astrognosia: Interludium I 01:05 352/24 Album only
6 Astrognosia: Cancer - Krepsen 01:32 352/24 Album only
7 Astrognosia: Leo - Loven 02:06 352/24 Album only
8 Astrognosia: Virgo - Jomfruen 01:48 352/24 Album only
9 Astrognosia: Interludium II 00:52 352/24 Album only
10 Astrognosia: Libra - Vekten 01:49 352/24 Album only
11 Astrognosia: Scorpio - Skorpionen 01:38 352/24 Album only
12 Astrognosia: Sagittarius - Skytten 01:39 352/24 Album only
13 Astrognosia: Interludium III 00:56 352/24 Album only
14 Astrognosia: Capricornus - Steinbukken 01:41 352/24 Album only
15 Astrognosia: Aquarius - Vannmannen 01:26 352/24 Album only
16 Astrognosia: Pisces - Fiskene 01:33 352/24 Album only
17 Astrognosia: Pavane for Manen 03:18 352/24 Album only
18 Aesops Fabler 23:32 352/24 Album only

Price as configured: $30.00

* Required Fields

PLEASE NOTE: iTunes* ® does not support playback of 352kHz/24bit ALAC files. The maximum sample rate supported by iTunes ® is 192kHz/24bit.
You must have a DAC that supports playback of 352.8kHz/24bit audio in order to play these files.
* iTunes ® is a registered trademark of Apple and is in no way affiliated with HDtracks.

℗ © 2015 2L (Lindberg Lyd, Norway)

The stars and the sky at night have always fascinated people and kindled wonder, faith and superstition. In ASTROGNOSIA we are in the world of astrology with its interpretation of the year's twelve signs of the zodiac, each with its own characteristics. The work is held together by the changing phases of the moon on its journey through the heavens, and it is played here by theNorwegian Radio Orchestra, conducted by Ingar Heine Bergby. AESOP'S FABLES is written for narrator and orchestra – the narrator here being Dennis Storhøi – and is based on Herman Wildenvey's translation of the fables. It is inspired by Wildenvey's playful re-telling of the stories in dazzlingly rhythmic verse.

Magne Amdahl (born 1942) received his first piano tuition in 1950 at Oslo Piano School, and he completed his piano studies at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels under Vladimir Ashkenazy. Concurrently, Amdahl studied the trombone, conducting and composition. In 1971 he was appointed musical director at Oslo Nye Teater, a post he held for 30 years, only interrupted by a few seasons as Kapellmeister at the National Theatre. He regularly composed music for productions at these theatres. All in all, Amdahl has composed music for over 60 theatre productions in addition to almost 70 works for chamber ensembles or full orchestra, together with music for advertisements and films, and a large number of folk songs. In rehearsals at Oslo Nye Teater Amdahl often collaborated with Dennis Storhøi.