Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Hobo 49:38 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Me Missin' You 5:12 $2.49 Buy
2 If I Don't See You Later 3:45 $2.49 Buy
3 Brick House 6:04 $2.49 Buy
4 I Really Do 4:13 $2.49 Buy
5 Written in Stone 3:26 $2.49 Buy
6 You'll Never Walk Alone 3:04 $2.49 Buy
7 Oh Well 2:38 $2.49 Buy
8 Hobo 3:36 $2.49 Buy
9 Oughtta Be Happy by Now 5:22 $2.49 Buy
10 I Couldn't Change Your Mind 3:54 $2.49 Buy
11 Sizzlin' 4:00 $2.49 Buy
12 Moving Big Picture 4:24 $2.49 Buy

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

Rough-and-tumble singer/songwriter Sara K.'s brilliant new record, Hobo, is her hottest and hardest-hitting effort to date. Already regarded as a star internationally, Sara is poised to make her mark on America with her fourth Chesky release, which brims with smoky, road-worn songs about love and life. Hobo finds Sara's voice beautifully captured by Chesky's new 96/24 technology, and you'll be amazed by the range of tone and emotion that she conveys on this recording. Sara K. tells her musical war-stories with heart-cutting lyrics and tunes that you'll be singing long after the disc has stopped playing. Hobo also provides Sara with an opportunity to bring her blusey, knowing style to a number of diverse covers. "Brick House" is a witty, stripped-down acoustic take on the Commodores' smash, featuring dynamite upright bass work and irresistible percussion, while the Rodgers and Hammerstein favorite, "You'll Never Walk Alone," from Carousel , gets an intricate re-working that sounds far more barroom than Broadway. And a version of Fleetwood Mac's "Oh Well" showcases Bruce Dunlop and Hui Cox's furious fretwork alongside some breathtakingly raw acappella vocals by Sara. Another Hobo highlight is Sara's R&B-flavored duet with vocalist Matthew Andrae on the true-to life "Oughtta Be Happy By Now." This is undoubtedly Sara's strongest work to date and listening to her is an invitation to experience a life.

Main Artists Sara K.
Matthew Andrae - guitar, vocals
Hui Cox - guitar
Bruce Dunlap - guitar
Randy Landau - bass (upright), bass
Sara K. - vocals

Producer David Chesky
Executive Producer Norman Chesky
Co-Producer Steve Guttenberg, Steve Kaiser
Engineer Bob Katz
Assistant Engineer Phillip Sztenderowicz
Editing Engineer Nicholas Prout
Mastering Engineer Nicholas Prout
Recorded November 18 - 22, 1996.

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

Hobo (JD155)
Chesky Records
Genre: blues, folk
Liner notes by Sara K.
Photography by Richard D. Young.