So What

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
So What 1:04:28 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 So What [Jerry Garcia & David Grisman] 6:58 $1.49 Buy
2 Bag's Groove [Jerry Garcia & David Grisman] 8:46 44.1/16 Album only
3 Milestones [Jerry Garcia & David Grisman] 7:58 44.1/16 Album only
4 16-16 [Jerry Garcia & David Grisman] 6:21 $1.49 Buy
5 So What [Jerry Garcia & David Grisman] 7:54 44.1/16 Album only
6 Bag's Groove [Jerry Garcia & David Grisman] 8:26 44.1/16 Album only
7 Milestones [Jerry Garcia & David Grisman] 10:22 44.1/16 Album only
8 So What [Jerry Garcia & David Grisman] 7:43 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Garcia/Grisman Go Jazz The music on Acoustic Disc's "So What" (ACD-33) documents the jazz side of the extraordinary Jerry Garcia/David Grisman collaboration. Well known for their shared interest in folk and bluegrass music, the two were also avid jazz listeners and each had worked with masters of that idiom -- Jerry with Ornette Coleman and Branford Marsalis; David with Stephane Grappelli and Martin Taylor. This unique recording features two Miles Davis classics, "So What" and "Milestones", Milt Jackson's "Bag's Groove", and a David Grisman original "16/16."

"So What" was recorded at Dawg Studios between 1990 and 1992, and also features bassist Jim Kerwin, percussionist Joe Craven and flutist Matt Eakle, all current members of the David Grisman Quintet. Like many classic jazz compilations on CD, So What offers "alternate take" versions of several tracks, showcasing the versatility and spontaneous creative power of these two exceptional artists, and affording the listener a rare opportunity to compare different improvisational approaches to the same material.

In addition, the CD comes packaged with a 12-page booklet, illustrated throughout with original artwork by Jerry Garcia. Included are salutations from Bruce Hornsby and Ornette Coleman, and a brief history of the project by David Grisman.

"So What" is a fine presentation of some rare moments in the continuing Garcia/Grisman saga, and is sure to delight both jazz and acoustic music fans.

"... undeniably captivating ... The chemistry among the musicians is nothing short of spectacular as they gracefully tackle the various songs on So What ... They each smoothly make the transition between soloing and rhythmic accompaniment ... The result is an immaculate disc of free-flowing, mind-blowing jazz interpretations ... and the clarity of the recording serves to enhance its intimacy. Whether one is a Deadhead or just a fan of improvisational jazz, this disc is a requirement." - John Metzger, The Music Box