Beethoven: Sonata in C major, Op. 53 - Stravinsky: Petrushka

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Beethoven: Sonata in C major, Op. 53 - Stravinsky: Petrushka 38:59 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I. Allegro con brio 9:50 96/24 Album only
2 II. Introduzione: Adagio molto - III. Rondo: Allegretto moderato 13:22 96/24 Album only
3 No. 1. Danse russe (Russian Dance) 2:40 96/24 Album only
4 No. 2. Chez Petrouchka (Petrushka's Cell) 4:16 96/24 Album only
5 No. 3. La semaine grasse (The Shrove-tide Fair) 8:49 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2014 Wilson Audiophile Recordings


When Beethoven left Bonn in 1792, few could have envisioned the titanic creations which would follow his arrival in Vienna. The Count Ferdinand von Waldstein could hardly have foreseen the prophetic nature of his parting words to Beethoven: "Mozart's genius is still mourning the death of his ward. In the inexhaustible Haydn he found a refuge but no employment... Through unremitting industry you shall receive Mozart‘s spirit from the hands of Haydn." One can only imagine the exhilaration with which the Count must have greeted the sonata whose dedication immortalized his name.

The trilogy of ballets which Stravinsky wrote for the famed Ballet Russe during the years 1910-1914 are a milestone in the history of music. Each in its own way makes a unique contribution to the evolution of music in the twentieth century. "L‘Oiseau de Feu" (1910) demonstrated to the world that Stravinsky was an orchestrator whose innovations would broaden the spectrum of the symphonic expression, even surpassing the achievements of his mentor, Rimsky-Korsakov. The early successes of the “Firebird”, however, were only a prelude to the full realization of Stravinsky‘s artistic vision. Perhaps no moment in the history of music except the “Eroica.” has had the revolutionary impact of "Le Sacre du Printemps" (1914).