Berio: The Great Works for Voice

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Berio: The Great Works for Voice 1:18:13 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Folk Songs : Black is the color 3:03 $1.49 Buy
2 Folk Songs : I wonder as I wander 2:03 $1.49 Buy
3 Folk Songs : Loosin yelav 2:59 $1.49 Buy
4 Folk Songs : Rossignolet du bois 1:35 $1.49 Buy
5 Folk Songs : A la femminisca 1:36 $1.49 Buy
6 Folk Songs : Ladonna ideale 1:21 $1.49 Buy
7 Folk Songs : Ballo 1:38 $1.49 Buy
8 Folk Songs : Motettu du tristura 2:21 $1.49 Buy
9 Folk Songs : Malurous qu'o uno fenno 1:01 $1.49 Buy
10 Folk Songs : Lo fiolaire 2:36 $1.49 Buy
11 Folk Songs : Azerbaijan love song 2:34 $1.49 Buy
12 Sequenza III 9:35 44.1/16 Album only
13 Quattro Canzoni Popolari : Dolce cominciamento[1946, rev. 1973] (to Elena Hift) 2:30 $1.49 Buy
14 Quattro Canzoni Popolari : La donna ideale(to Lele d'Amico) 1:17 $1.49 Buy
15 Quattro Canzoni Popolari : Avendo gran disio(to Cathy) 5:33 $1.49 Buy
16 Quattro Canzoni Popolari : Ballo(to Andrew Rosner) 1:37 $1.49 Buy
17 Chamber Music : String in the Earth and Air 3:57 $1.49 Buy
18 Chamber Music : Monotone 2:24 $1.49 Buy
19 Chamber Music : Winds of May 1:39 $1.49 Buy
20 O King 4:41 $1.49 Buy
21 Circles : I. stinging 3:41 $1.49 Buy
22 Circles : II. riverly is a flower 4:21 $1.49 Buy
23 Circles : III. n(o)w 8:37 44.1/16 Album only
24 Circles : IV. riverly is a flower 3:15 $1.49 Buy
25 Circles : V. stinging 2:19 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Luciano Berio was one of the greatest and most innovative composers for the voice of the post-war generation - moving it into previously unknown territories, yet with an innately literate sense of song.

First released to honor Berio's 70th birthday in 1995, this CD met great critical acclaim and was among Mode's top selling releases.

His association with the legendary mezzo-soprano Cathy Berberian led to the creation of all but one of the works recorded on this CD - a selection of his greatest vocal compositions collected on one disc for the first time.

Added to this reissue is the first recording of Quattro Canzoni Popolari, four arrangements of Italian folk songs which hark back to late medieval Sicilian and Genovese texts and tunes. Three of the songs date from his early twenties as a student. Two songs were later rearranged for his Folk Songs. And in 1973, another song, Avendo gran disìo, was added to this set.

The recital begins with Berio's magical, wry Folk Songs. One of his most popular works based on tunes from America, France, Italy, Sicily and Azerbaijan, their folk veneer covers many musical surprises, including hints of minimalism.

Sequenza III for solo voice is a tour-de-force for a singing actress, covering all ranges of human emotion in a virtuoso vocal display.

James Joyce wrote his Chamber Music poems with the intention that they be sung. Set by Berio in his early 20s, their sophistication belie the composer's age.

O King was written in memoriam to Dr. Martin Luther King - an extremely moving work based on the syllables of Dr. King's name. Berio later reorchestrated this into a movement fot his Sinfonia.

Circles was one of the landmark works of the 1960s. Ingeniously scored for singer with harp and two percussionists (playing an enormous battery of over 80 instruments). Circles' unique sound is unlike anything heard before or since - providing the perfect foil to the text by e.e. cummings.

Expanded liner notes by Mark Swed and Sabine Feisst.

Luciano Berio (1925 - 2003)

Coming soon