Be Altitude: Respect Yourself

Available in Audiophile 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Be Altitude: Respect Yourself 49:32 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 The World 3:40 $2.49 Buy
2 Respect Yourself 4:56 88/24 Album only
3 Name The Missing Word 4:07 $2.49 Buy
4 I'll Take You There 4:49 $2.49 Buy
5 This Old Town (People In This Old Town) 4:44 $2.49 Buy
6 We The People 3:52 88/24 Album only
7 Are You Sure 4:30 $2.49 Buy
8 Who Do You Think You Are (Jesus Christ Superstar)? 4:12 88/24 Album only
9 I'm Just Another Soldier 3:53 $2.49 Buy
10 Who 3:16 $2.49 Buy
11 Walking In Water Over Our Head 3:52 88/24 Album only
12 Heavy Makes You Happy (Alternate) 3:41 88/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

Includes two previously unreleased bonus tracks: “Walking in Water Over Our Head” and an alternate version of “Heavy Makes You Happy”

Originally released in 1972, Be Altitude: Respect Yourself captures the celebrated family vocal group in what was essentially the third act of their career, according to music historian Rob Bowman. The Staple Singers had initially established themselves as a gospel group in the 1950s, then merged with the folk music closely tied to the civil rights movement of the 1960s, and ultimately veered away from protest songs and toward what Mavis Staples termed “message music” in the early and mid-1970s.

One of the Stax label's greatest triumphs. -Lloyd Bradley, BBC Review