Radio City

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Radio City 36:12 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 O, My Soul 05:38 96/24 Album only
2 Life Is White 03:18 96/24 Album only
3 Way Out West 02:50 96/24 Album only
4 What's Going Ahn 02:41 96/24 Album only
5 You Get What You Deserve 03:08 96/24 Album only
6 Mod Lang 02:46 96/24 Album only
7 Back Of A Car 02:46 96/24 Album only
8 Daisy Glaze 03:49 96/24 Album only
9 She's A Mover 03:13 96/24 Album only
10 September Gurls 02:48 96/24 Album only
11 Morpha Too 01:28 96/24 Album only
12 I'm In Love With A Girl 01:47 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2014 Concord Music Group, Inc.

Radio City is the 1974 follow up to Big Star’s debut, #1 Record. The critically acclaimed, Memphis-based band is often credited with creating the power pop sound, and has become a cult favorite over the years. Remastered from the analog stereo masters, this reissue will allow fans to appreciate Radio City as a standalone CD—this is the first time in many years that the CD version of the album will be sold independently of #1 Record. Packaging includes new liner notes penned by R.E.M.’s Mike Mills, who cites Big Star as one of his biggest influences.

One half of Big Star’s songwriting duo, Chris Bell, made the decision to leave the band following the 1972 release of #1 Record, which left Alex Chilton at the helm as primary songwriter on album number two. Chilton was able to use this opportunity to shine and prove himself to be an incredible songwriter on his own. Journalists noticed: bearing a tongue-in-cheek title, Radio City garnered rave reviews and produced several cult favorites, including “September Gurls,” which has been covered by everyone from The Bangles to Superdrag.

In his liner notes, Mike Mills writes, “On Radio City, Chilton confirms his place as one of the best songwriters in rock and roll. While ‘September Gurls’ may be the best-known song from this album, every other song here is one that I wish I’d written.”

This reissue comes during a time of resurgence for Big Star, a band whose legacy has been widely recognized as of late, with a tribute record (Big Star Small World, 2006), a documentary (2012’s Nothing Can Hurt Me) and a touring live show, “Big Star’s Third,” which features the sole-surviving original member of the band, Jody Stephens, on drums, guest vocalists, a chamber orchestra and a core band including Mike Mills, Chris Stamey of The dB’s, The Posies’ Ken Stringfellow and others. The ever-changing ensemble performs Big Star’s third album Third/Sister Lovers, as well as favorites from the first two records.

“Songwriting has always been, for me, the most vital gauge of a band’s quality, and these guys were clearly masters.” – Mike Mills