Not So Soft

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Not So Soft 49:24 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Anticipate 3:25 $1.49 Buy
2 Rockabye 4:37 $1.49 Buy
3 She Says 3:41 $1.49 Buy
4 Make Me Stay 3:15 $1.49 Buy
5 On Every Corner 4:24 $1.49 Buy
6 Small World 3:38 $1.49 Buy
7 Not So Soft 2:05 $1.49 Buy
8 Roll With It 3:53 $1.49 Buy
9 Itch 3:07 $1.49 Buy
10 Gratitude 3:18 $1.49 Buy
11 The Whole Night 2:53 $1.49 Buy
12 The Next Big Thing 3:45 $1.49 Buy
13 Brief Bus Stop 3:45 $1.49 Buy
14 Looking for the Holes 3:38 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Not So Soft is both lullaby and wake up call. Ani’s rhythmic acoustic guitar playing and politically dense lyricism make for a melodious journey of personal discovery. The Folksinger’s sentiments are as witty and humorous as ever. Using her voice as musical accompaniment the effect is stunning.

This solo record is filled with honesty and the quiet plucking of heartstrings. “Anticipate” and “Not So Soft” sometimes sneak their way into the setlist and are undoubtedly crowd pleasers. Ten other tunes at large in the shadow of America’s landscape range from bedroom scenes to bus stops. AIDS, corporate structure, gender dynamics, war and love are some heavy topics made light.

“Gratitude” and “ The Next Big Thing” explore feminism through stories of expectation. “She Says”, “Make Me Stay” , “Itch”, “Rockabye” , and “The Whole Night” spin tales of love and desire.

Not So Soft is full of guitar grooves and philosophic musings from someone who’s not afraid to talk to strangers. In a desert of recycled rhetoric this one is as original as the forest floor.