Bill Evans: Some Other Time (The Lost Session from the Black Forest)

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit, 96kHz/24bit, DSD 5.6MHz & DSD 2.8MHz

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Bill Evans: Some Other Time (The Lost Session from the Black Forest) 1:33:40 $29.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 You Go to My Head 05:00 Album only
2 Very Early 05:13 Album only
3 What Kind of Fool Am I? 05:21 Album only
4 I'll Remember April 04:08 Album only
5 My Funny Valentine 06:58 Album only
6 Baubles, Bangles and Beads 04:39 Album only
7 Turn Out the Stars 04:56 Album only
8 It Could Happen to You 03:59 Album only
9 In a Sentimental Mood 04:18 Album only
10 These Foolish Things 04:14 Album only
11 Some Other Time 05:36 Album only
12 You're Gonna Hear From Me 03:32 Album only
13 Walkin' Up 04:11 Album only
14 Baubles, Bangles and Beads 04:51 Album only
15 It's All Right With Me 03:46 Album only
16 What Kind of Fool Am I? 02:52 Album only
17 How About You 04:02 Album only
18 On Green Dolphin Street 04:33 Album only
19 Wonder Why 04:14 Album only
20 Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?) 03:49 Album only
21 You're Gonna Hear From Me (Alternate Take) 03:28 Album only

Price as configured: $29.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2016 2xHD

This double album includes 93 minutes of never- before-heard studio recordings by the great Bill Evans with captivating performances by Evans in solo, duo and trio settings.  It is one of the most extraordinary musical archeological finds.  The recordings on this album constitute the material from a June 20th, 1968 session recorded by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer (HGBS) and Joachim-Ernst Brendt in Germany’s Black Forest that was originally intended for release on HGBS’s legendary  MPS label but for some reason were never released.  This is no ordinary recording.  It’s a remarkable document of an under-represented period in the career of one of the icons of Jazz.

2xHD is proud to be associated with Resonance Records on this exceptional project.

For the 2xHD transfer of this recording, the original 1/4”, CCIR master tape was played on a Nagra-T modified with high-end tube playback electronics, wired with OCC silver cable from the playback head direct to a Telefunken EF806 tube. The Nagra T has one of the best transports ever made, having four direct drive motors, two pinch rollers and a tape tension head.   

We did an analog transfer for each high-res sampling 


Each format (192kHz, DSD, 96kHz and DSD2) was created using Merging Horus/Hapi In DSD 5.6mHz and a dCS Vivaldi clock