Black Coffee

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit & 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Black Coffee 58:20 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Comes Love 4:27 192/24 Album only
2 Alice in Wonderland 2:57 192/24 Album only
3 Easy to Love 4:53 192/24 Album only
4 Sentimental Journey 3:43 192/24 Album only
5 Lazy Afternoon 2:42 192/24 Album only
6 Pennies from Heaven 4:46 192/24 Album only
7 Alright Okay You Win 3:47 192/24 Album only
8 Black Coffee 5:55 192/24 Album only
9 Ain't Misbehavin' 3:43 192/24 Album only
10 Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe 3:45 192/24 Album only
11 Skylark 4:41 192/24 Album only
12 When the Sun Comes Out 5:16 192/24 Album only
13 Be My Baby 4:13 192/24 Album only
14 Gentle Rain 3:32 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields


Jazz vocalist Louise Rogers has been gradually winning over converts with her beautiful burnished tone, clear diction, flawless intonation and impeccable musicianship. Her natural, unforced delivery harkens back to such pure singers as Peggy Lee, Ella Fitzgerald, Chris Connor, and Doris Day.

BLACK COFFEE is her 5th recording, and finds Rogers taking a more relaxed and restrained approach over 12 songs, including standards "Ain't Misbehavin'" and "Gentle Rain" and a moving take on "Alice In Wonderland" as well pop numbers, such as Peggy Lee's 1956 hit "Black Coffee."

Main Artists Louise Rogers
Billy Drummond - drums
Paul Meyers - guitar
Rick Strong - bass

Producer David Chesky
Executive Producer Norman Chesky
Engineer Rick Eckerle, Nicholas Prout
Assistant Engineer Alex Sterling

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

Black Coffee (SACD345)
Chesky Records

Track Listing:

  1. Comes Love (Lew Brown / Sam H. Stept / Charles Tobias)
  2. Alice in Wonderland (Sammy Fain / Bob Hilliard)
  3. Easy to Love (Cole Porter)
  4. Sentimental Journey (Les Brown / Bud Green / Benjamin Homer)
  5. Lazy Afternoon (John Latouche / Jerome Moross)
  6. Pennies from Heaven (Johnny Burke / Arthur Johnston)
  7. Alright Okay You Win (Mayme Watts / Sidney Wyche)
  8. Black Coffee (J. Francis Burke / Paul Francis Webster)
  9. Ain't Misbehavin' (Harry Brooks / Andy Razaf / Thomas Waller)
  10. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe (Harold Arlen / E.Y. "Yip" Harburg)
  11. Skylark (Hoagy Carmichael / Johnny Mercer)
  12. When the Sun Comes Out (Harold Arlen / Ted Koehler)
  13. Be My Baby (Niki Giovanni / Louise Rogers / Rick Strong)
  14. Gentle Rain (Luiz Bonfá / Matt Dubey)

Genre: Jazz
Liner notes by David Chesky and Bill Milkowski.

Photo by Gabrielle Weber.
Art direction by Jeff Wong.