Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Bluesmen 1:11:57 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Big Boss Man 05:34 $1.49 Buy
2 Mama Let Me Lay It On You 03:11 $1.49 Buy
3 Prison Bound Blues 05:15 $1.49 Buy
4 Jesus Is Mine 04:26 $1.49 Buy
5 The Little Red Rooster 05:26 $1.49 Buy
6 Blake's Rag 03:22 $1.49 Buy
7 A Shanty In Old Shanty Town 04:32 $1.49 Buy
8 Broke Down Engine 05:26 $1.49 Buy
9 Good Morning Little School Girl 04:21 $1.49 Buy
10 St. Louis Blues 03:27 $1.49 Buy
11 The Things I Used To Do 03:07 $1.49 Buy
12 Sick Bed Blues 05:00 $1.49 Buy
13 Burn Your Bridges 04:25 $1.49 Buy
14 Goin' To The River 03:55 $1.49 Buy
15 Prison Blues 06:26 $1.49 Buy
16 Keep Your Hands Off Her 04:04 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Both John Cephas' and Phil Wiggins' instrumental styles exemplify what has been termed as "Piedmont" or the "East Coast" blues tradition and connects with the styles of other major Piedmont artists especially Blind Boy Fuller, Gary Davis, and Sonny Terry. Cephas and Wiggins current compilation remains centered in their regional tradition of acoustic guitar and harmonica, offering an energetic and soulful option to contemporary electric blues.

Main Artist Cephas & Wiggins

Producer David Chesky, Danny Draher, Steve Gutterberg
Executive Producer Norman Chesky
Co-Producer Suzanne Hollander, Dave Rubin
Engineer Bob Katz
Assistant Engineer Peter Cho, Jeremy Kipnis
Editing Engineer Jeremy Kipnis
Recorded October 20-21, 1992.

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

Bluesmen (JD89)
Chesky Records
Track Listing:

  1. Big Boss Man (Luther Dixon/Al Smith)
  2. Mama Let Me Lay It On You (Mance Lipscomb)
  3. Prison Bound Blues (Blind Boy Fuller)
  4. Jesus Is Mine
  5. The Little Red Rooster (Chester Burnett/Willie Dixon/Big Mama Thornton)
  6. Blake's Rag (Blind Blake)
  7. A Shanty In Old Shanty Town (John Siras/Joe Young)
  8. Broke Down Engine (Blind Willie McTell)
  9. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (Sonny Boy Williamson I)
  10. St. Louis Blues (W.C. Handy)
  11. The Things I Used To Do (Eddie Jones/Guitar Slim)
  12. Sick Bed Blues (Skip James)
  13. Burn Your Bridges (John Cephas/Phil Wiggins)
  14. Goin' To The River (Robert Riley/Jerry L. Willis)
  15. Prison Blues (Skip James)
  16. Keep Your Hands Off Her (Big Bill Broonzy

Genre: Blues
Liner Notes by Barry Lee Pearson.

Art direction by Ross Hudson.
Photography by Stanley Schnier.

"This audiophile DDD disc from Piedmont bluesman John Cephas & Phil Wiggins is a real treat for those who like a little refinement in their blues and roots music." - James Lien, New Music Report