Bread & Roses: Works For Piano 1976-1983

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Bread & Roses: Works For Piano 1976-1983 1:00:38 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Prelude I 2:34 $1.49 Buy
2 Prelude II 2:11 $1.49 Buy
3 Prelude III 2:40 $1.49 Buy
4 Prelude IV 1:22 $1.49 Buy
5 Prelude V 2:08 $1.49 Buy
6 Prelude VI 1:44 $1.49 Buy
7 Prelude VII 2:01 $1.49 Buy
8 Prelude VIII 4:07 $1.49 Buy
9 Prelude IX 1:38 $1.49 Buy
10 Prelude X 4:22 $1.49 Buy
11 Prelude XI 3:04 $1.49 Buy
12 Bread And Roses (Original Song) 0:52 $1.49 Buy
13 Bread And Roses 8:52 44.1/16 Album only
14 Piano Song (I Am A Dangerous Woman) 10:04 44.1/16 Album only
15 Hay Una Mujer Desaparecida 12:59 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

The recent set of piano works on this record stem from his "political" period, often drawing on material from popular song and other politically connected musics.

The ELEVEN PRELUDES (1981) are a wonderful collection of self-contained pieces, each representing one principal idea or process.

BREAD AND ROSES (1976) is based on a song of the same title (Sally Pinkas includes the original song on this disc) written during the great mill strike of 1912 in Lawrence, MA. The song caught the voices and
asprirations of the women who took part in this
infamous strike.

PIANO SONG (I AM A DANGEROUS WOMAN) (1983) is based on Joan Cavanaugh's fierce anti-war poem.

The last work, HAY UNA MUJER DESAPARECIDA (1979) is a set of variations on a song by Holly Near which was a lament for the women who "disappeared" in Pinochet's junta in Chile during the 1970s.

Most of these works are RECORDED HERE FOR THE FIRST TIME. This disc is also important as one of the first all-Wolff recitals to be issued.

Prepared under the composer's direction, the pieces are expertly played by Sally Pinkas.

"...played with technical authority, a wide range of colorings, shadings...and imagination." - The Boston Globe