Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Breathless 1:18:04 $20.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Compared To What (feat. PJ Morton) 05:49 96/24 Album only
2 See Me As I Am 08:53 96/24 Album only
3 Everglades 14:34 96/24 Album only
4 Breathless 04:39 96/24 Album only
5 Confident Selflessness 08:13 96/24 Album only
6 Shutting Down (feat. PJ Morton) 04:12 96/24 Album only
7 Soldiers 06:09 96/24 Album only
8 Samadhi 03:57 96/24 Album only
9 Talk To Me 04:04 96/24 Album only
10 Tom & Jerry 02:48 96/24 Album only
11 I Ain't Got Nothin' But Time (feat. PJ Morton) 04:28 96/24 Album only
12 Cosmic Warrior 05:25 96/24 Album only
13 Midnight 04:53 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $20.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2015 Blue Note Records


Multiple Grammy-winning trumpeter and composer Terence Blanchard is set to release his new album, Breathless, on May 26th on Blue Note Records. With his new quintet, The E-Collective, Blanchard journeys into an exciting zone of grooved fusion teeming with funk, R&B and blues colors. The album is a statement piece with the title referencing  “I can’t breathe,” the words of Eric Garner that have since echoed across the country in protest of discrimination. 

Produced by the trumpeter and his manager Robin Burgess and executive produced by Blue Note president Don Was, the adventurous 13-tune recording zeroes in on several Blanchard originals, an epic-length piece by Fabian Almazan (“Everglades”) and a scattering of covers, sung by soothing and soulful vocalist PJ Morton (a member of the band Maroon 5), including an exhilarating take on the modern standard “Compared to What“ made famous by Les McCann and Eddie Harris, and the soul-vibed and lyrical take on “I Ain’t Got Nothin’ But Time” penned by Hank Williams. Plus, Morton sings the compelling pop-styled, song-of-strength tune, ”Shutting Down,” written by Blanchard’s talented son, T. Oliver Blanchard Jr., aka JRei Oliver, who also contributes spoken-word excerpts on others.

Blanchard hits the road this year with The E-Collective including performances at New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival, Playboy Jazz Festival, Monterey Jazz Festival, several European festivals and multi-night runs in New York City, Denver, St. Louis, and DC. A complete list of tour dates is below.

The E-Collective includes Charles Altura (Guitar), Fabian Almazan (Piano and Synths), Donald Ramsey (Bass), and Oscar Seaton (Drums).