Britten & Hindemith: Violin Concertos

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Britten & Hindemith: Violin Concertos 1:05:44 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Violin Concerto, Op. 15: I. Moderato con moto 10:17 96/24 Album only
2 Violin Concerto, Op. 15: II. Vivace - Largamente - Cadenza 09:12 96/24 Album only
3 Violin Concerto, Op. 15: III. Passacaglia. Andante lento, un poco meno mosso 15:23 96/24 Album only
4 Violin Concerto: I. Ma?ig bewegte Halbe 09:56 96/24 Album only
5 Violin Concerto: II. Langsam 10:03 96/24 Album only
6 Violin Concerto: III. Lebhaft 10:44 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2017 PentaTone
© 2017 PentaTone

Breathtaking virtuosity flows seamlessly with expansive lyrical passages and fiendish passagework in this commanding performance by Arabella Steinbacher of the restless and technically demanding violin concertos of Britten and Hindemith in this new release from PENTATONE, with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin conducted by Vladimir Jurowski. Britten’s haunting and mesmerising violin concerto is considered one of the century’s finest. The three contrasting movements are replete with grand theatrical gestures, unabashed lyricism, and show-stopping pyrotechnics, and the work closes with an austere passacaglia of other-wordly beauty and power. Following the work’s enthusiastic reception at its premiere in 1940 at Carnegie Hall, Britten declared “So far, it is without question my best piece”. “Britten and Hindemith completed their concertos at about the same time,” writes Steinbacher, “both are absolutely bursting with emotional turmoil, persisting precariousness, and latent despair.” Steinbacher feels a particular affinity with the Hindemith concerto. “Every artist introduces his own life experiences and personal feelings into his interpretations ... with the Hindemith concerto, I have an extremely close, even private connection, as my father knew Hindemith rather well.”