Bruneau: Orchestral Works

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Bruneau: Orchestral Works 1:04:30 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Messidor: Prelude 05:54 96/24 Album only
2 L'attaque du moulin suite: I. Prelude et lied 04:50 96/24 Album only
3 L'attaque du moulin suite: II. La guerre. La foret 09:03 96/24 Album only
4 L'attaque du moulin suite: III. Les fiancailles au moulin 07:46 96/24 Album only
5 Nais Micoulin: Prelude 06:13 96/24 Album only
6 Messidor: La legende de l'or 30:13 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2018 Naxos
© 2018 Naxos

A composition pupil of Jules Massenet, Alfred Bruneau was largely responsible for introducing realism into French opera. His friendship with the writer Emile Zola, who shared his desire for theatrical naturalism, strongly informed his work, not least L’Attaque du Moulin (The Attack on the Mill) a ‘drame lyrique.’ The suite includes rustic elements, but also Mascagni-like verismo beauty tempered by a Gallic palette. Bruneau was a deft orchestrator with a taste for exotic color, and the excerpts from Messidor show the influence of Wagner on one of the most important but overlooked figures in turn-of-the-century French musical life. A Marco Polo release in 1994 has the same repertoire as this new recording from the Barcelona Symphony and Darrell Ang, however that album is no longer available, so this new release is a perfect opportunity to reintroduce these works.