Carla's Christmas Carols

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Carla's Christmas Carols 1:02:35 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 O Tannenbaum 2:40 $1.49 Buy
2 Away In A Manger 6:04 $1.49 Buy
3 The Christmas Song 5:26 $1.49 Buy
4 Ring Christmas Bells 6:00 $1.49 Buy
5 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen, part one 4:57 $1.49 Buy
6 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen, part two 5:30 $1.49 Buy
7 It Came Upon A Midnight Clear 5:08 $1.49 Buy
8 Hell's Bells 5:24 $1.49 Buy
9 Jesus Maria 8:43 44.1/16 Album only
10 Jingle Bells 3:16 $1.49 Buy
11 O Holy Night 7:39 44.1/16 Album only
12 Joy To The World 1:48 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Christmas music has been an enthusiasm of Carla Bley’s for decades, and traditional and non-traditional seasonal pieces are here subjected to her offbeat wit and idiosyncratic arranging skills. Selections include “O Tannenbaum”, “Away In A Manger”, “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”, “Jingle Bells”,. “O Holy Night” and “Joy To the World”, plus Mel Tormé’s The “Christmas Song” and a brace of Carla’s own pieces – “Jesus Maria” (first recorded by Jimmy Giuffre back in 1961), and, giving the devil his due, “Hell’s Bells”. “Carla’s Christmas Carols” was recorded in La Buissonne Studios in the South of France after a whirlwind tour of Europe at the end of 2008, and folds in two pieces from that tour (recorded live in Berlin). The pleasure that the musicians find in the material is unmistakable and, perhaps particularly after a glass of mulled wine, contagious.