Chabrier: Espana; Suite pastorale; Fete Polonaise; Overture "Gwendoline"; Danse Slave; Roussel: Suite in F

Available in Audiophile 176kHz/24bit & 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Chabrier: Espana; Suite pastorale; Fete Polonaise; Overture "Gwendoline"; Danse Slave; Roussel: Suite in F 1:07:19 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Espana - Rhapsody for Orchestra 6:40 176/24 Album only
2 Suite pastorale: 1. Idylle 4:04 176/24 Album only
3 Suite pastorale: 2. Danse villageoise 4:20 176/24 Album only
4 Suite pastorale: 3. Sous-bois 2:57 176/24 Album only
5 Suite pastorale: 4. Scherzo-Valse 4:39 176/24 Album only
6 Fete polonaise 7:36 176/24 Album only
7 Gwendoline: Overture 8:43 176/24 Album only
8 Le roi malgre lui: Danse slave 5:12 176/24 Album only
9 Joyeuse marche 3:40 176/24 Album only
10 Bourree fantasque 6:15 176/24 Album only
11 Suite in F, Op.33: 1. Prelude 4:02 176/24 Album only
12 Suite in F, Op.33: 2. Sarabande 4:51 176/24 Album only
13 Suite in F, Op.33: 3. Gigue 4:20 176/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

Emmanuel Chabrier (1841-1894): Espana (track 1); Suite Pastorale (tracks 2-5); Fete Polonaise (track 6); Gwendoline Overture (track 7); Dance Slave (track 8); Joyeuse March (track 9); Bourree Fantasque (track 10)

Albert Roussel (1869-1937): Suite in F, Op. 33 (tracks 11-13)

Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Paul Paray, conductor

Recorded March 19, 1957 in Edsel Ford Auditorium, Detroit (tracks 10-13); April 5, 1959 in Old Orchestra Hall, Detroit (track 9) and November 18, 1959 in Cass Technical High School Auditorium, Detroit (tracks 1-8)

Recording Director: Wilma Cozart
Musical Supervisor: Harold Lawrence
Chief Engineer & Technical Supervisor: C. Robert Fine
Associate Engineer: Robert Eberenz (tracks 1-8)
DSD Transfer and 3-to-2 Mix: Andrew Wedman assisted by Mark Bucker, Andreas Bruning and Claudia Pohl

Original recordings made with three Schoeps M201 omni-directional microphones (tracks 1-8) and a Schoeps M201 in the center and Neumann KM-56 omni-directional microphones on the left and right sides (tracks 9-13). Recorded on Ampex 300 half-inch 3-track recorders at 15 inches per second. First-generation tapes were transferred to produce this high-definition download.

Recorded in three different venues by the Mercury Living Presence team, this collection of compositions by Chabrier and Roussel is as stunning in performance as it is sound quality. A true gem, rereleased with stunning new clarity, this certainly belongs in any classical-lover’s collection.