Chicago Moves

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Chicago Moves 1:02:05 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Gaudete 3:11 96/24 Album only
2 I. Moderato 3:45 $2.49 Buy
3 II. Andante 5:07 96/24 Album only
4 III. Animato 3:05 96/24 Album only
5 A Great Commercial City 6:01 $2.49 Buy
6 Helios 4:27 96/24 Album only
7 I. Bell 3:24 96/24 Album only
8 II. Mute 4:53 $2.49 Buy
9 III. Slide 4:16 96/24 Album only
10 I. Grant Park 3:24 96/24 Album only
11 II. The Spaghetti Bowl 3:37 96/24 Album only
12 III. Loop Lament 4:13 96/24 Album only
13 IV. Lake Shore Drive 2:55 $2.49 Buy
14 Copperwave 9:47 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

© 2012 Cedille
℗ 2012 Cedille


Gaudete Brass makes its Cedille Records debut with Chicago Moves, an album of new and diverse American works for brass quintet. All were composed in the last six years, and all but one were written expressly for the Chicago-based ensemble of young brass virtuosos.

World premieres include the title work, David Sampson's "Chicago Moves," a tribute to the city's multifaceted character through "third stream" classical-meets-jazz melodies atop an almost minimalist groove. Rob Deemer's "Brass" explores the rich and varied textures and sounds unique to the brass family of instruments. Brian Baxter's "A Great Commercial City," another valentine to Gaudete Brass's hometown, draws its melodic and harmonic content from a mid-19th century folk song praising the fertile farmlands of Illinois. Stacy Garrop's "Helios" depicts the classical Greek sun god's blazing journey across the daytime sky and calm, nightly slumber in his golden boat. John Cheetham's "Sonata for Brass Quintet," written in the classical sonata form of fast-slow-fast movements, includes solos for each instrument. James Woodward's "Gaudete," the quintet's very first commission, conveys the jubilant spirit inherent in the ensemble's name, which comes from the Latin word for "rejoice."

Chicago Moves also includes celebrated composer Joan Tower's "Copperwave," a work in which musical ideas move in waves, sometimes to a Latin American-style rhythm.