CLARKE, R: Viola Music

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
CLARKE, R: Viola Music 1:19:36 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I. Impetuoso (Viola Sonata) 8:58 44.1/16 Album only
2 II. Vivace (Viola Sonata) 4:23 $1.49 Buy
3 III. Adagio (Viola Sonata) 11:56 44.1/16 Album only
4 Passacaglia [Passacaglia] 5:16 $1.49 Buy
5 Lullaby (Lullaby) 4:40 $1.49 Buy
6 Lullaby on an Ancient Irish Tune (Lullaby) 2:40 $1.49 Buy
7 Morpheus [Morpheus] 7:19 44.1/16 Album only
8 Chinese Puzzle [Chinese Puzzle] 1:33 $1.49 Buy
9 I'll bid my heart be still [I'll bid my heart be still] 3:37 $1.49 Buy
10 Untitled Piece for Viola and Piano [(Untitled)] 5:24 $1.49 Buy
11 Dumka [Dumka] 10:16 44.1/16 Album only
12 Prelude (Prelude, Allegro and Pastorale) 3:32 $1.49 Buy
13 Allegro (Prelude, Allegro and Pastorale) 3:17 $1.49 Buy
14 Pastorale (Prelude, Allegro and Pastorale) 6:45 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Rebecca Clarke’s music is often described (along with that of Vaughan Williams) as English impressionism, but her style ranges from lush post-romantic (as in the passionate Viola Sonata, her best-known work) to the taut neo-classicism of Stravinsky (as heard in her Prelude, Allegro, and Pastorale). Clarke trained with Charles Stanford at the Royal College of Music in London, but wrote much of her music while living in the United States. Most of her music remained unpublished in her lifetime, and this recording is part of a dramatic discovery that has been taking place since her 90th birthday in 1976.

Both technically and musically, these are exceptional accounts, with Dukes producing the most alluring sound throughout the register, counterpointed by Sophia Rahman's beguiling pianism and Michael Ponter's exemplary engineering. Another Naxos winner. - Julian Haylock, The Strad