Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition

Available in Audiophile 176kHz/24bit & 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition 1:11:15 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade (1) 1:50 176/24 Album only
2 Pictures at an Exhibition: Gnomus 2:34 176/24 Album only
3 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade (2) 1:05 176/24 Album only
4 Pictures at an Exhibition: Il Vecchio Castello 4:26 176/24 Album only
5 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade (3) 0:34 176/24 Album only
6 Pictures at an Exhibition: Tuileries 0:59 176/24 Album only
7 Pictures at an Exhibition: Bydlo 3:26 176/24 Album only
8 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade (4) 0:44 176/24 Album only
9 Pictures at an Exhibition: Ballet Of The Chicks In Their Shells 1:12 176/24 Album only
10 Pictures at an Exhibition: Samuel Goldenburg And Schmuyle 2:13 176/24 Album only
11 Pictures at an Exhibition: The Marketplace At Limoges 1:17 176/24 Album only
12 Pictures at an Exhibition: Catacombae, Sepulchrum Romanum 1:57 176/24 Album only
13 Pictures at an Exhibition: Con Mortuis In Lingua Mortua 1:58 176/24 Album only
14 Pictures at an Exhibition: The Hut On Fowl's Legs 3:29 176/24 Album only
15 Pictures at an Exhibition: The Great Gate At Kiev 5:14 176/24 Album only
16 Marche Miniature (From Suite No. 1 In D-Minor, Op. 43) 2:06 176/24 Album only
17 A Night On Bald Mountain 10:20 176/24 Album only
18 Prince Igor 4:55 176/24 Album only
19 Marche Slave 10:36 176/24 Album only
20 Colas Breugnon, Op. 24: Overture 4:55 176/24 Album only
21 Russian And Ludmilla: Overture 5:25 176/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

© 2004 Sony Music Entertainment
℗ Originally Recorded 1957. All rights reserved by BMG Music

Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881): Pictures at an Exhibition (tracks 1-15) and A Night On Bald Mountain (track 17)
Piotr Ilich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893): Marche miniature from Suite No. 1 (track 16) and Marche slave (track 19)
Alexander Borodin (1833-1887): Polovtsian March from "Prince Igor" (track 18)
Dmitri Kabalevsky (1904-1987): Colas Breugnon, op. 24: Overture (track 20)
Mikhail Glinka (1804-1857): Overture from "Russian and Ludmilla" (track 21)

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Fritz Reiner, conductor

Recorded December 7, 1957 (tracks 1-15) and March 14, 1959 (tracks 16-21) in Orchestra Hall, Chicago

Producery: Richard Mohr
Recording Engineer: Lewis Layton
Mastering Engineer: Mark Donahue
Remastered from first-generation session tapes at Soundmirror Inc., Boston MA

All sessions were recorded to 3-track 1/2-inch tape on Ampex 300 tape machines running at 15 inches per second.

Typical RCA Living Stereo mic setups included Neumann M-49 and U-47 condenser and RCA 77DX ribbon mics. Microphones were connected to custom-made RCA mixing consoles, which in turn fed the tape recorders.

Acclaimed conductor Fritz Reiner guides the Chicago Symphony Orchestra through definitive performances of masterpieces by Russian composers. Reiner's reading of Pictures at an Exhibition, originally released as RCA Living Stereo LSC-2201, immediately became a favorite of critics and audiophiles alike. The other works were originally released on LSC-2423, titled Festival. In both recordings, the ensemble displays masterful skill. These wide-range recordings will reproduce with astonishing clarity and spectacular presence.