Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade

Available in Audiophile 176kHz/24bit & 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade 1:06:47 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Scheherazade, Op. 35: The Sea and Sinbad's Ship 9:06 176/24 Album only
2 Scheherazade, Op. 35: The Story of the Kalender Prince 11:35 176/24 Album only
3 Scheherazade, Op. 35: The Young Prince and the Young Princess 12:02 176/24 Album only
4 Scheherazade, Op. 35: Festival in Bagdad; The Sea; The Ship Goes to Pieces on a Rock Surmounted by a Bronze Warrior (Shipwreck); Conclusion 11:47 176/24 Album only
5 Song of the Nightingale: Presto 2:38 176/24 Album only
6 Song of the Nightingale: Chinese March 3:41 176/24 Album only
7 Song of the Nightingale: Song of the Nightingale 4:06 176/24 Album only
8 Song of the Nightingale: The Mechanical Nightingale: [The mechanical nightingale] 0:57 176/24 Album only
9 Song of the Nightingale: The Mechanical Nightingale: [The Emperor's displeasure at the departure of the real nightingale] 1:07 176/24 Album only
10 Song of the Nightingale: The Mechanical Nightingale: [The Emperor's sickroom] 3:57 176/24 Album only
11 Song of the Nightingale: The Mechanical Nightingale: [The real nightingale returns to thwart Death] 2:52 176/24 Album only
12 Song of the Nightingale: The Mechanical Nightingale: [Funeral march and Finale] 2:59 176/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

© 2005 Sony Music Entertainment
℗ Originally Recorded 1960. All Rights Reserved by BMG Music.

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908): Scheherazade
Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971): Song of the Nightingale

Sidney Harth, violin on Sheherazade
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Fritz Reiner, conductor

Recorded February 8, 1960 (Sheherazade) and November 3, 1956 (Song of the Nightingale) in Orchestra Hall, Chicago

Producer: Richard Mohr
Recording Engineer: Lewis Layton
Mastering Engineer: Mark Donahue
Remastered from first-generation session tapes at Soundmirror Inc., Boston MA

All sessions were recorded to 3-track 1/2-inch tape on Ampex 300 tape machines running at 15 inches per second.

Typical RCA Living Stereo mic setups included Neumann M-49 and U-47 condenser and RCA 77DX ribbon mics. Microphones were connected to custom-made RCA mixing consoles, which in turn fed the tape recorders.

This download pairs legendary RCA Living Stereo recordings of masterpieces by Rimsky-Korsakov and Stravinsky, led by the authoritative power of Fritz Reiner. The Chicago Symphony Orchestra performs with precision and clarity. These are the definitive performances of these two pieces. Widely regarded as among the finest recordings ever made by an orchestra, this album has been praised by various audiophile publications including The Absolute Sound.