Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker (2011 - Remaster)

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker (2011 - Remaster) 1:26:15 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Miniature Overture 3:29 96/24 Album only
2 Decoration of the Christmas Tree 4:17 96/24 Album only
3 March 2:24 96/24 Album only
4 Children's Galop and Entry of the Parents 2:27 96/24 Album only
5 Arrival of Drosselmayer 5:43 96/24 Album only
6 The Nutcracker and Grandfather Dance 5:43 96/24 Album only
7 Departure of the guests (Clara and the Nutcracker) 6:36 96/24 Album only
8 The Battle and Transformation Scene 3:21 96/24 Album only
9 The forest of fir trees in Winter (Journey through the snow) 3:58 96/24 Album only
10 Waltz of the Snowfalkes 6:21 96/24 Album only
11 The Enchanted Palace of the Kingdom of Sweets (The magic castle) 4:30 96/24 Album only
12 Arrival of Clara and the Nutcracker 4:34 96/24 Album only
13 Chocolate (Spanish Dance) 1:11 96/24 Album only
14 Coffee (Arab Dance) 3:12 96/24 Album only
15 Tea (Chinese Dance) 1:07 96/24 Album only
16 Trepak (Russian Dance) 1:07 96/24 Album only
17 Dance of the Mirlitons (Flutes) 2:17 96/24 Album only
18 Mother Gigogne and the Clowns 2:57 96/24 Album only
19 Waltz of the Flowers 6:54 96/24 Album only
20 Pas de deux 4:57 96/24 Album only
21 Variation I (Tarantella) 0:41 96/24 Album only
22 Variation II (Dance of the Sugar-Plum Fairy) & Coda 3:29 96/24 Album only
23 Final Waltz & Apotheose 5:00 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

© 2012 EMI Records Ltd.
℗ 2011 The copyright in this sound recording is owned by EMI Records Ltd. Digital Remastering ℗ 1972 by EMI Records Ltd.


This stunning audiophile download celebrates one of Tchaikovsky’s most beloved works, The Nutcracker. The ballet is an absolute masterpiece from start to finish. Under the leadership of acclaimed conductor Andre Previn, the London Symphony Orchestra blends clarity with flawless technique. Upheld to the highest standards, Previn delivered a masterful interpretation of this historic work complemented by the orchestra’s relentless commitment.

About the Mastering
Four engineers at Abbey Road Studios in London have remastered these historic EMI recordings from their original analogue sources for release in pristine hi-def. Between them, Simon Gibson, Ian Jones, Andy Walter and Allan Ramsay have many years of experience remastering archive recordings for EMI and other record labels. The process always starts with finding all of the records and tapes in EMI's archive in London and comparing different sources and any previous CD reissues. We consult each recording's job file, which contains notes about the recording made by the engineer and producer. For example, this sometimes explain why there is more than one set of tapes to choose from. All of the tapes are generally in good condition and we play them on our Studer A80 π inch tape machine, after careful calibration of its replay characteristics.

In order to have the best digital remastering tools at our disposal for the remastering, we transfer from analogue to the digital domain at 96 KHz and 24-bit resolution using a Prism ADA-8 converter and capture the audio to our SADiE Digital Audio Workstation.

Simon Gibson, January 2012