Available in Audiophile 88kHz/24bit & 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Mirror 1:12:54 $20.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I Fall in Love Too Easily 5:01 $2.49 Buy
2 Go Down Moses 5:59 $2.49 Buy
3 Desolation Sound 7:03 88/24 Album only
4 La Llorona 5:34 $2.49 Buy
5 Caroline, No 4:02 $2.49 Buy
6 Monk's Mood 5:01 $2.49 Buy
7 Mirror 6:42 $2.49 Buy
8 Ruby, My Dear 5:25 $2.49 Buy
9 The Water Is Wide 7:20 88/24 Album only
10 Lift Every Voice And Sing 4:28 $2.49 Buy
11 Being And Becoming, Road To Dakshineswar With Sangeeta 7:02 88/24 Album only
12 Tagi 9:17 88/24 Album only

Price as configured: $20.98

* Required Fields

Charles Lloyd has always led exceptional bands, and this is one of the finest. Following on from the live RABO DE NUBE, which won both the Readers and Critics Polls of Jazz Times, here is a studio album from the quartet with Jason Moran, Reuben Rogers and Eric Harland. Familiar material is reappraised and transformed in this session, including Lloyd originals such as “Desolation Sound”, “Go Down Moses”, and “The Water is Wide”. There are also a couple of superb Thelonious Monk covers, “Ruby, My Dear” and “Monks Mood” and a beautiful, free arrangement of the Beach Boys’ “Caroline No”. Throughout, the interaction between piano, bass and drums is fleet and fluid: Lloyd’s saxophones float poetically above it.

Mr. Lloyd's playing on tenor (and, on one track, alto) saxophone is breathy and ribbon-like when squiggling to or from a melodic line; firmly formed yet transparent, like the surface of a pool, on long tones. The music is frequently meditative and for the most part concisely phrased. Yet there's a demanding fullness and intensity to his emotional outpouring through the album's dozen tracks, the sort that frequently anticipates uplift.