Classica Cubana

Available in Audiophile 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Classica Cubana 48:03 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 El carretero 4:24 $2.49 Buy
2 Merengue Clerch 1:44 $2.49 Buy
3 Maria Eugenia 4:35 $2.49 Buy
4 Capullito de aleli 4:56 $2.49 Buy
5 Ensename 3:14 $2.49 Buy
6 Guajira a mi madre 3:48 $2.49 Buy
7 Dos gardenias 3:22 $2.49 Buy
8 Retorna 2:54 $2.49 Buy
9 Cachita 3:26 $2.49 Buy
10 Tardes de cafe 4:19 $2.49 Buy
11 Lagrimas negras 3:48 $2.49 Buy
12 Un cubanito en Hallein 2:09 $2.49 Buy
13 Mi nina 2:34 $2.49 Buy
14 Juramento 2:50 $2.49 Buy

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

Personnel: Anette Maiburg (flute); Joaquin Clerch (guitar); Pancho Amat (tres).

Salsa This is a declaration of love for Cuba, a homage to the tres as the archetypal Cuban national instrument, and it is a memorial to Maria Eugenia, a beloved wife who died far too early: Pancho Amat, together with the Cuban guitarist Joaquín Clerch, presents the music of his Caribbean homeland. As "Cubana Classica" these two world-famous musicians have recorded an (SA)CD with friends, bringing the rhythms and feel of Cuba to Europe in a most impressive way. Son The tres is like a small guitar, with three pairs of strings. Initially, the instrument was widely used on the sugar plantations, before becoming very popular in Cuba's villages and cities. Now it is an integral part of Cuban folk music. The "son Cubano", the traditional style of music, is central to the culture, though this recording also includes the Rumba, Chachacha and Mambo.

Rumba Pancho Amat is the world's leading tres player. He can conjure up an inimitably transparent sound from the instrument, while having a sensitive ear for degrees of dynamics. The tres, a childhood gift from his father, became his friend; through it, he got to know his homeland and his compatriots, it led him to the love of his life, and to his musical counterpart on guitar, Joaquín Clerch. Habanera On some pieces, the ensemble is expanded to a quintet, with Anette Maiburg contributing a soft, sensitive and unbelievably supple flute timbre, the classical European antithesis to Omar Rodriguez Calvo (what double bass solos he produces!) and Alexander Raymat on percussion. An entertaining and refreshing programme in excellent recording quality and seasoned with a hint of "Havana".