Close To My Heart

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Close To My Heart 53:39 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Weird Nightmare 05:30 $1.49 Buy
2 Excercent 06:29 $1.49 Buy
3 Take Me In Your Arms 04:39 $1.49 Buy
4 502 Blues (Drinkin' & Drivin') (DRINKIN' & DRIVIN') 07:33 44.1/16 Album only
5 All My Life 03:59 $1.49 Buy
6 Don't You Know I Care 02:57 $1.49 Buy
7 Pioggia Di Perugia 05:09 $1.49 Buy
8 It's A Beautiful Evening 04:53 $1.49 Buy
9 This Is The Moment 05:42 $1.49 Buy
10 Why Try To Change Now? 03:50 $1.49 Buy
11 In Your Eyes 02:58 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

On his MAXJAZZ Horn Series debut album, Close To My Heart, Jeremy celebrates the emotional ballads. Each of the eleven selections is filled with the lush and rich sounds of his horns. He is quite capable on trumpet and flugelhorn. His notes are well crafted and their rounded tones are perfect. Several of his selections are accompanied by violins, cello, and viola which frame his wondrous horn so beautifully. On the opening Mingus ballad, "Weird Nightmare", the strings rush in like a gentle breeze as he flows in with his mellow trumpet. He swings brightly on "Excerent" (Pepper Adams) and "Take Me In Your Arms" (Suisse & Norman) which features some great drum work from Lewis Nash. Jeremy plays solo flugelhorn on the Ellington & David ballad "Don't You Know I Care." The piece is solemn, reflective and has a certain longing as it tugs at the heart. Pianist Eric Reed contributed the mid-tempo ballad "Piogga Di Perugia" which features Mulgrew Miller on a very nice opening piano solo and Jeremy brings in a certain brightness that gives the tune a reminiscent feel of the Coltrane classic "Giant Steps." His sensuous horn continues on the Jimmy Rowles ballad "502 Blues (Drinkin' & Drivin') which features Peter Washington on bass solo. His horn rings like a bell as he opens "All My Life" (Mitchell & Stept) which is punctuated with lush strings. The cornerstone of this album is the Wayne & Rasch ballad "It's A Beautiful Evening." After a string intro, Jeremy comes in mellifluously on the flugelhorn with Mulgrew framing his every note. You can imagine yourself on an evening stroll on the beach with the sun just about to set as you hear Mulgrew tip-toe on the piano and the strings wash upon the shore. It is magnificent. "This Is The Moment" (Hollaender & Robin) features Jeremy on trumpet and David O'Rourke on solo guitar. David also arranged and conducted all the string selections for the album. The album closes out with the beautiful ballads "Why Try To Change Me Now?" (Coleman & McCarthy) and "In Your Eyes" (Loesser). Jeremy also serves as co-producer and arranger on the album.

"...After the first listen, this album will touch your heart and with continued listening, it will be close to your heart. Years from now, we will look back on this album as just one of the many bright moments in the formidable career of this brilliant trumpeter." - James Knox, Blogcritics Magazine