Crown Imperial - Festive Music for Organ, Winds, Brass, & Percussion

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

  • Title: Crown Imperial - Festive Music for Organ, Winds, Brass, & Percussion
  • Artist:
  • Genre:
  • Label: Reference Recordings
  • Release Date: 2007
Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Crown Imperial - Festive Music for Organ, Winds, Brass, & Percussion 1:10:59 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Festival Intrada 6:25 $1.49 Buy
2 Canzon Primi Toni 4:05 $1.49 Buy
3 Crown Imperial 10:41 44.1/16 Album only
4 Procession du Vendredi-Saint 9:35 44.1/16 Album only
5 County Derry Air 6:30 $1.49 Buy
6 Elsa's Procession to the Cathedral from "Lohengrin" 7:57 44.1/16 Album only
7 Kammermusik No.7, Op.46 No.2 - I. Nicht Zu Schnell 3:32 $1.49 Buy
8 Kammermusik No.7, Op.46 No.2 - II. Sehr Langsam Und Ganz Ruhig 5:38 $1.49 Buy
9 Kammermusik No.7, Op.46 No.2 - III. [Achtel Bis 184] 6:24 $1.49 Buy
10 Niagara Falls 10:12 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Festive Music for Organ, Winds, Brass & Percussion!
One of RR’s all-time bestsellers, and an audiophile touchstone, is Pomp & Pipes!, our first foray into the magnificent repertoire for organ and wind band. In the fourteen years since, we’ve had many requests for “more!”, and here it is, a program that’s at least as exhilarating.

This time, in addition to the renowned Dallas Wind Symphony and its music director Jerry Junkin, we have the services of Mary Preston, resident organist of the mighty Fisk concert instrument in the Meyerson Symphony Center. No one knows better than she the capabilities of the Fisk, and Mary Preston can make it sing and shout.

In addition to the royal coronation anthem CROWN IMPERIAL by William Walton, there are substantial pieces that are seldom heard in such full instrumentation. Richard Strauss contributes a stately FESTIVAL INTRADA; there’s a CANZON originally composed “in stereo” by Giovanni Gabrieli; a ceremonial brass FANFARE by Henri Tomasi; an unusual arrangement by Percy Grainger of the famous COUNTY DERRY AIR; ELSA’S PROCESSION TO THE CATHEDRAL from Lohengrin by Richard Wagner, who knew how to bring an audience to its feet; KAMMERMUSIK #7, a full concerto for organ and winds by Paul Hindemith; and NIAGARA FALLS, a rousing, wild ride by popular American composer Michael Daugherty.

Sir William Walton (1902 - 1983)

"From the shriek of piccolo to the thunder of the organ's awesome 32 foot-pedal stops, this will give the best stereo system a workout. . .hold on to your subwoofer and when organist Mary Preston cuts loose, don't be surprised if neighbors complain about their furniture sliding across the floor."