Daniel Asia: Symphonies No. 2 & 3

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Daniel Asia: Symphonies No. 2 & 3 1:07:26 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Symphony No. 3: Maestoso 13:48 44.1/16 Album only
2 Symphony No. 3: Adagio 15:50 44.1/16 Album only
3 Symphony No. 3: Allegro 11:14 44.1/16 Album only
4 Symphony No. 2 "Celebration Symphony": Ma Tovu 5:22 $1.49 Buy
5 Symphony No. 2 "Celebration Symphony": Ashrenu 2:55 $1.49 Buy
6 Symphony No. 2 "Celebration Symphony": L'kha Adonai 5:44 $1.49 Buy
7 Symphony No. 2 "Celebration Symphony": Hine El Yeshuati 4:58 $1.49 Buy
8 Symphony No. 2 "Celebration Symphony": Halleluyah 7:35 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Daniel Asia describes his music as “quasi-tonal,” and others have dubbed it “impressionistic” and “accessibly tense.” All these apply to the two Symphonies recorded on this disc. Both are rich, complex, elegantly orchestrated, and display the talents of a powerful composer and an energetic orchestra. The Symphony No. 3 was written for the Phoenix Symphony under the Meet the Composer program, who have since commissioned a fourth. The piece follows the jazzier tradition of American art music, such as Bernstein and Copland, while retaining and exploring Asia’s personal voice. “Any listener brought up on the barely-tethered tonalities of Wagner or Debussy should feel comfortable enough to surrender to this music’s unfettered, physical joy.” (James Reel, from the liner notes.) The Symphony No. 2 is a celebration of Judaism. The piece was inspired by the texts of the Jewish Liturgy, and the five movements bear the names and moods of various prayers.

Daniel Asia is one of our country's most up-and-coming younger composers. Not to be missed by anyone interested in the future of serious music-making in this land. ” Fanfare