duoW: Entendre

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit & 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
duoW: Entendre 1:09:47 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7: I. Allegro serioso, non troppo 8:15 96/24 Album only
2 Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7: II. Adagio 7:56 96/24 Album only
3 Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7: III. Maestoso e largamente - IV. Presto 8:37 96/24 Album only
4 Passacaglia in G minor (after G.F. Handel's Keyboard Suite No. 7 in G minor, HWV 432: VI. Passacaille) (arr. for violin and cello) 6:58 96/24 Album only
5 Grand Duo de Concert No. 1 sur des airs Nationaux Anglais 13:20 96/24 Album only
6 Sonata for Violin and Cello: I. Allegro 4:51 96/24 Album only
7 Sonata for Violin and Cello: II. Tres vif 3:27 96/24 Album only
8 Sonata for Violin and Cello: III. Lent 6:15 96/24 Album only
9 Sonata for Violin and Cello: IV. Vif, avec entrain 6:03 96/24 Album only
10 Stars and Stripes Forever (arr. B. Dukov for violin and cello) 4:05 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2013 Sono Luminus

In an extraordinary example of Sono Luminus’ commitment to unearthing neoteric and intriguing talent, we present the blockbuster team that is duoW in their debut album, Entendre. duoW presents five highly virtuosic works that challenge and redefine the limits and capabilities of the violin and cello partnership, and transport the listener through time, allowing them a glimpse into each composer’s world. The ingenuity of these composers evidences itself in the avant-garde techniques contained throughout these compositions, and by their brilliant and often humorous allusions to the vernacular and popular culture of their respective eras. The listener will hear tunes such as “Yankee Doodle,” “God Save the Queen,” “The Stars and Stripes Forever,” Handel’s ever-present G minor Passacaglia, and will recognize borrowed elements from the folk and jazz idioms.

duoW reflects the vision of these composers, redefining the concept of a duo ensemble with their dazzling technique, dynamic musicianship, and commitment to the future of classical music, which can be seen with this astonishing and inspiring debut album.

Violinist Arianna Warsaw-Fan and cellist Meta Weiss—duoW—burst onto the international music scene when their cutting edge music video, Ghosts and Flowers, went viral on the internet in the fall of 2011. Strongly committed to bringing classical music to new audiences, these two ambitious Juilliard grads launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund the production of a dazzling music video which features their performance of the beautiful and highly virtuosic Handel-Halvorsen Passacaglia.

Meta and Arianna have been performing together since they first met ten years ago at the prestigious Phillips Academy in Andover, MA. Both recent graduates of the Masters program at Juilliard, Meta and Arianna have both been recognized internationally for their astonishing musicianship and brilliant technique, garnering multiple awards and honors, and receiving recognition in major competitions around the world.