Early American Choral Music, Vol. 2: Anglo-American Psalmody 1550-1800

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Early American Choral Music, Vol. 2: Anglo-American Psalmody 1550-1800 59:53 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Colchester ("O 'twas a joyful sound to hear") 1:31 44.1/16 Album only
2 The Humble Suit of a Sinner ("O Lord of whom I do depend") 3:09 44.1/16 Album only
3 The Lamentation of a Sinner ("O Lord turne not away thy face") 4:05 44.1/16 Album only
4 The Humble Complaint of a Sinner ("Where righteousness doth say") 2:41 44.1/16 Album only
5 Brevity ("Man, born of woman") 1:18 44.1/16 Album only
6 Cambridge Short-Southwell ("O God, to rescue me") 1:54 44.1/16 Album only
7 Watford ("How long wilt thou forget me, Lord") 1:30 44.1/16 Album only
8 The beauty of Isr'el is slain 4:58 44.1/16 Album only
9 Thomas-Town ("Great God, how frail a Thing is Man") 2:35 44.1/16 Album only
10 Chester ("Let tyrants shake their iron rod") 2:15 44.1/16 Album only
11 Chesterfield ("Death may dissolve my Body now") 2:31 44.1/16 Album only
12 Who is this that cometh from Edom? 6:01 44.1/16 Album only
13 Worcester ("How beauteous are their feet") 1:57 44.1/16 Album only
14 Amanda ("Death like an overflowing stream") 2:07 44.1/16 Album only
15 Montgomery ("Early my God, without delay") 2:37 44.1/16 Album only
16 Windham ("Broad is the road that leads to death") 1:36 44.1/16 Album only
17 Ode on Music ("Descend, ye Nine!") 3:26 44.1/16 Album only
18 All Saints ("O if the Lord would come and meet") 3:01 44.1/16 Album only
19 Rainbow ("Tis by thy strength the mountains stand") 1:55 44.1/16 Album only
20 Schenectady ("From all that dwell below the skies") 1:06 44.1/16 Album only
21 Greenwich ("Lord, what a thoughtless wretch was I") 2:29 44.1/16 Album only
22 Decay ("My days are as the grass") 1:16 44.1/16 Album only
23 Evening Hymn ("The day is past and gone") 3:55 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 1996 Harmonia Mundi USA


Early American Choral Music, Vol. 2: Anglo-American Psalmody 1550-1800 is an anthology of more than 250 years of sacred music written for congregational singing. Covering music that is both American and European, Paul Hillier leads the magnificent vocal ensemble, His Majestie's Clerkes in a stirring performance of a selection of this esoteric music. The performers have definitely done their research on this music, and the strong vitality of the early American spirit comes through in the recording.