Fair & Square

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Fair & Square 1:03:12 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Glory Of True Love 4:16 $1.49 Buy
2 Crazy As A Loon 5:07 $1.49 Buy
3 Long Monday 3:27 $1.49 Buy
4 Taking A Walk 6:14 $1.49 Buy
5 Some Humans Ain't Human 7:08 44.1/16 Album only
6 My Darlin' Hometown 3:18 $1.49 Buy
7 Morning Train 4:06 $1.49 Buy
8 The Moon Is Down 3:52 $1.49 Buy
9 Clay Pigeons 4:31 $1.49 Buy
10 She Is My Everything 4:30 $1.49 Buy
11 I Hate It When That Happens To Me 2:54 $1.49 Buy
12 Bear Creek Blues 4:49 $1.49 Buy
13 The Other Side Of Town 4:58 $1.49 Buy
14 Safety Joe 4:02 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Personnel include: John Prine (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dan Tyminski, Alison Krauss, Mindy Smith (vocals); Dan Dugmore (steel guitar); Phil Parlapiano (accordion); Dave Jacques (bass guitar); Paul Griffith (drums); Kenny Malone (percussion); Jerry Douglas.

FAIR & SQUARE's release was highly anticipated by John Prine fans, as the veteran singer/songwriter hadn't recorded an album of new songs in 10 years (the preceding IN SPITE OF OURSELVES was mostly cover tunes). Happily for both Prine and his contingent, FAIR & SQUARE represents that most coveted of phenomena, the Return to Form. Though 1995's LOST DOGS & MIXED BLESSINGS was not without its virtues, some tracks were marred by overproduction. Here, though, the arrangements are scaled back down to Prine's comfort zone, appropriately rootsy to accommodate both the down-home amiability of his tone and the endlessly intriguing twists and turns of his unique lyrical style. While he's not untouched by contemporary events (references to the White House and the war in Iraq crop up), most of the tunes here are the sort of classic Prine material that made the songwriter a cult hero in the '70s. Equally important, the likes of "Crazy as a Loon" and "Some Humans Ain't Human" show that he still has his unique knack for making penetrating observations while maintaining his trademark wry humor

"[A]n excellent set of songs full of rootsy warmth and unpretentious wit." - Rolling Stone