Available in Audiophile 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Fanfare 1:18:16 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Fanfare 7:05 88/24 Album only
2 Dear Friend 7:19 88/24 Album only
3 Her Hair Is Growing Long 4:53 88/24 Album only
4 Love to Love 4:09 88/24 Album only
5 Future Vision 5:54 88/24 Album only
6 Moses Pain 6:38 88/24 Album only
7 Cecil Taylor 6:30 88/24 Album only
8 Illumination 6:38 88/24 Album only
9 Desert Trip 4:26 88/24 Album only
10 Fazon 5:38 88/24 Album only
11 New Mexico 6:40 88/24 Album only
12 Lovestrong 6:32 88/24 Album only
13 All the Way Down 5:54 88/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2013 Downtown Records


Fanfare, the second full-length from acclaimed artist and producer Jonathan Wilson, will receive a US release in October 2013 via Downtown Records.

The follow-up to 2011ʼs critically-lauded Gentle Spirit, Fanfare taps into and innovates on the deep lineage of the Laurel Canyon rock scene in Los Angeles, boasting collaborations with Angelino legends Graham Nash, David Crosby and Jackson Browne, as well as new era favorites like Father John Misty.

Wilson, who crafted Fanfare with engineer Bryce Gonzales over a nine-month period at his personal Five Star Studio in Echo Park, is already a storied producer (Father John Misty, Dawes), and here he pushes those talents to their natural extreme, nodding to the rootsy psychedelia of cult classics like Pacific Ocean Blue by Dennis Wilson.

“I was going for this sort of widescreen sound,” Wilson explains. “I wanted a blown-out vista of oceanic expanse. I wanted strings, horns, bells, vibes, voices, solos, improvisation and a full orchestra on some of the tunes.”

After constant touring with everyone from Neil Young and Tom Petty to Wilco and Tame Impala, Wilson also translated the chemistry of his must-see touring band into the studio. Featuring Richard Gowen (drums), Dan Horne (bass), Omar Velasco (guitar) and Jason Borger (piano/organ), Fanfare is both loose and tight – the result of five guys that have played countless festivals, clubs, theaters, arenas and every place with electricity in between.

Ultimately, though, it’s about lifers tapping into a legendary songwriting lineage and connecting a new generation of experience and sound to an older, near timeless one. From the classic sun-soaked folk-rock “Love To Love” to the emotive campfire strum of “Moses Pain,” Wilson organically explores his own voice rather than playing into genre constraints.

“There is a high degree of musical prowess and pedigree here. Crossgenerational musical sharing and passing down traditions is very important to me and something that must continue,” Wilson says. “This is the way you keep the Fanfare’s blowing. This is how you keep the energies interacting.”