Festive Mass At The Imperial Court Of Vienna 1648

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Festive Mass At The Imperial Court Of Vienna 1648 1:03:46 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Imperial Sonata No 1 [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 3:19 $1.49 Buy
2 Attolite Portas [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 5:21 $1.49 Buy
3 Jubilate Deo. Kyrie [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 3:38 $1.49 Buy
4 Symphonia, Kyrie Eleison, Gloria [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 8:46 44.1/16 Album only
5 Venite, Exsultemus Domino [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 2:37 $1.49 Buy
6 Credo [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 8:12 44.1/16 Album only
7 Sonata I [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 2:20 $1.49 Buy
8 Benedicte [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 6:07 $1.49 Buy
9 Sanctus, Benedictus [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 2:41 $1.49 Buy
10 O Quam Dulcis [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 3:50 $1.49 Buy
11 Pater Noster [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 4:12 $1.49 Buy
12 Agnus Dei [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 2:02 $1.49 Buy
13 Sonata II [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 2:08 $1.49 Buy
14 Cantate Domino [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 6:03 $1.49 Buy
15 Imperial Sonata No 2 [Yorkshire Bach Choir] 2:30 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

"The works of this record constitute a complete Mass likely heard shortly after the singing of the peace of Westphalia in 1648, celebrating the end of the 30 Years War. The range encompasses the music of the three Kapellmeisters , one Lutheran composer and an Italian virtuoso musician...imports of the influential Italians and their modern practices were then leading the way from polyphonic writing to the early baroque. The eight-part works in this collection are probably to be performed antiphonally, with sparkling brass instrumental doubling, in the festive style cultivated by the Gabrielis in Venice".

"This first appeared as Novello 105, later as Pickwick 974, but the program was originally heard in public at the Yorkshire Early Music Festival. The notes describe the program as the music of a complete Mass that may have been heard shortly after the signing of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648. No claim is made that there are any grounds for choosing this particular group of selections, only that this music was in general use at the court at the time. Christoph Straus (c. 1575“1631) was Kapellmeister at the court from 1612 to 1619, succeeded by Giovanni Priuli (c. 1575“1629), who served until his death, while Antonio Bertali (1605“1669) succeeded in 1649. Straus composed the Missa Veni sponsa Christi heard here, while the Propers of the Mass were written by Andreas Rauch (1592“1656), an Austrian Lutheran who served in nearby Sopron, Hungary, but nevertheless found favor with the court. Two of Priuli's motets are inserted at appropriate points during the Mass. Girolamo Fantini (c. 1602“c. 1645), whose imperial sonatas open and close the celebration, was a brilliant trumpeter, presumably at court.