Forestare Baroque

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit, 96kHz/24bit, DSD 2.8MHz & DSD 5.6MHz

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Forestare Baroque 51:43 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048: I. Allegro moderato 05:55 192/24 Album only
2 Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048: II. Adagio 00:44 192/24 Album only
3 Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048: III. Allegro 05:46 192/24 Album only
4 18 Chorales, BWV 651-668, "Leipziger Chorale": Fantasia super Komm heiliger Geist, BWV 651 (arr. D. Ratelle for guitar ensemble) 06:47 192/24 Album only
5 Trio Sonata in D Minor, Op. 1, No. 12, RV 63, " La Follia" (arr. D. Pilon for guitar ensemble) 12:00 192/24 Album only
6 Concerto Grosso in G Major, Op. 3, No. 2, RV 578: I. Adagio e Spiccato 02:02 192/24 Album only
7 Concerto Grosso in G Major, Op. 3, No. 2, RV 578: II. Allegro 02:37 192/24 Album only
8 Concerto Grosso in G Major, Op. 3, No. 2, RV 578: III. Larghetto 04:02 192/24 Album only
9 Concerto Grosso in G Major, Op. 3, No. 2, RV 578: IV. Allegro 02:23 192/24 Album only
10 Le bourgeois gentilhomme: Overture 02:59 192/24 Album only
11 Le bourgeois gentilhomme: Air 02:47 192/24 Album only
12 Le bourgeois gentilhomme: Canarie 01:24 192/24 Album only
13 Le bourgeois gentilhomme: Marche pour la ceremonie der Turcs 02:17 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2016 2xHD
© 2016 2xHD

Like tasting a unique wine made from unknown grapes, FORESTARE BAROQUE’ offers a fresh, 21st century glance at the baroque era, through this unusual ensemble of 12 guitars, 2 double basses and the occasional percussion. Formed in 2002 by a group of young, talented musicians whose experience encompassed many styles - classical, jazz, pop & folk - the group toured and recorded contemporary music until it was inspired to explore this vast body of immortal music with its abundance of masterpieces, and to introduce this important period to a new audience. Traditionally, Baroque music is mainly played by small string chamber ensembles augmented occasionally with wind instruments. Using Forestare’s more modern guitar arrangement gives this music a new perspective and turns it into quite an adventure. The energy emanating from the players make this a captivating introduction to the classical genre in a contemporary way, without betraying the authenticity of these timeless compositions.

The audiophile recording in 192/24 took place at the Église Saint Augustin in Mirabel, Canada, a church known for its fine acoustics. Mastering was done by 2xHD

‘’The best guitar ensemble of the moment’’

– Oscar Ohlsen, founder & , Chili’s Radio Beethoven, ‘Guitarra’ program

★★★★ ½

“Forestare Baroque - 2XHD… an innovation that’s truly out of the ordinary, appealing to all Baroque and guitar enthusiasts”

- Journal de Montréal



The recording was done by a three spaced microphone technique (Decca tree) using Schoeps M-222 tube microphones connected to a tube preamplifier, linked directly to an MSB Platinum ADC plus a 192kHz/24 resolution analog to digital converter. The recorder was the Nagra Seven with the MPS battery power supply.


This album was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original 24bits/192kHz resolution master, using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier before being recorded directly in DSD 5.6mHz using the Merging Horus/Hapi In and the dCS Vivaldi Clock. All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable.

Each format (96kHz, 192kHz, DSD2.8mHz and DSD5.6mHz) was created using Merging Horus/Hapi A/D converter, calibrated to the required format, and a dCS Vivaldi clock

2xHD was created by producer/studio owner André Perry and audiophile sound engineer René Laflamme.