From The Mountaintop

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit, 96kHz/24bit, 44.1kHz/16bit, DSD 2.8MHz & DSD 5.6MHz

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
From The Mountaintop 57:39 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Suzanna Gal 03:31 192/24 Album only
2 High On A Mountain 02:55 192/24 Album only
3 Cumberland Gap 03:58 192/24 Album only
4 Coal Miner's Blues 02:31 192/24 Album only
5 Cannonball 02:58 192/24 Album only
6 Wild Bill Jones 04:03 192/24 Album only
7 Make Me Down A Pallet On Your Floor 03:41 192/24 Album only
8 Wayfaring Stranger 05:38 192/24 Album only
9 Billy In The Low Ground 02:37 192/24 Album only
10 Angel Band 02:34 192/24 Album only
11 Tough Luck 03:01 192/24 Album only
12 John Henry 04:10 192/24 Album only
13 Wildwood Flower 03:29 192/24 Album only
14 I Wonder What They're Doing In Heaven Today 03:49 192/24 Album only
15 The Riddle Song 02:16 192/24 Album only
16 The Blackest Crow 03:59 192/24 Album only
17 Will The Circle Be Unbroken 02:29 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

(P) (C) 2015 Chesky Records


Featuring a full seventeen songs whose history can be traced back decades or even centuries through the Appalachian region, From The Mountaintop, and renowned Cellist, Dave Eggar, assemble an all-star cast of musicians set to treat your ears and transport you to the Appalachian region of years long passed. 


This compilation, From The Mountaintop, is another hallmark in traditional music. It is the outgrowth of an earlier collaboration when award-winning, classically trained cellist Dave Eggar came to Appalachia and recorded with one of its seminal figures, Dr. Ralph Stanley. Since then, Dave Eggar and Deoro (Eggar’s trio with Chuck Palmer and Tom Pirozzi) have returned and performed numerous times, becoming “kinfolk” to musicians like Noah Wall, Tyler Hughes, Jake Baine, and Tommy Norris. That pilgrimage, in 2010, began Dave Eggar’s journey home to Appalachia and her music. 


This CD is a result of that crossing. Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band appears right before you with this spacious, lush and multi-dimensional recording. Now headphone users will hear the same three-dimensional sound and imaging as audiophiles have for the past 25 years with Chesky Recordings. Also these new Binaural+ Series albums capture even more spatial realism for the home audiophile market, bringing you one step closer to the actual event. You will hear some of the most natural and pure cool Folk music ever recorded.
Jake Baine - lead, vocal harmony
Dave Eggar - cello, vocal harmony
Tyler Hughes - banjo, lead, vocal harmony, vocals
C. Lanzbom - guitar, vocal harmony
Tony Maceli - bass
The New Appalachians - primary artist
Tommy Norris - mandolin, vocal harmony
Chuck Palmer - drums, percussion, vocal harmony
Noah Wall - fiddle, lead, vocal harmony, vocals

Producer: David Chesky, Dave Eggar, Chuck Palmer
Executive Producer: Norman Chesky
Engineer: Nicholas Prout
Assistant Engineer: Mor Mezrich, Max Steen
Editing: Nicholas Prout
Mastering: Nicholas Prout

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

Recorded using a B&K Binaural head, MSB A/D Converter, and Crystal microphone cable.