Gesualdo: Sacrae Cantiones Liber secundus

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Gesualdo: Sacrae Cantiones Liber secundus 1:09:10 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Opening Canticle: Miserere 7:56 96/24 Album only
2 Prayers for Salvation: I. Virgo benedicta 2:47 $2.49 Buy
3 Prayers for Salvation: V. O oriens 2:36 $2.49 Buy
4 Prayers for Salvation: XVI. O beata Mater 2:58 96/24 Album only
5 Prayers For Salvation: XIII. Verba Mea 2:26 96/24 Album only
6 Prayers For Salvation: VIII. Veni Creator Spiritus 2:13 96/24 Album only
7 Prayers for Salvation: IV. Ave sanctissima Maria 3:34 $2.49 Buy
8 Prayers for Salvation: III. Sana me Domine 2:39 $2.49 Buy
9 Despair and Weeping: VI. Discedite a me omnes 2:27 96/24 Album only
10 Despair and Weeping: XIX. O anima sanctissima 3:04 96/24 Album only
11 Despair and Weeping: XIV. Ardens est cor meum 3:02 $2.49 Buy
12 Peace and Hope: II. Da pacem Domine 3:19 $2.49 Buy
13 Peace and Hope: XV. Ne derelinquas me 2:29 96/24 Album only
14 Peace And Hope: XVIII. Franciscus Humilis Et Pauper 2:46 $2.49 Buy
15 Sacrae Cantiones, Liber secundus: VII. Gaudeamus omnes 2:11 96/24 Album only
16 Praise and Thanks: X. Adoramus te Christe 2:04 96/24 Album only
17 Praise and Thanks: IX. O sacrum convivium 3:53 96/24 Album only
18 Praise And Thanks: XVII. AD Te Levavi 2:44 $2.49 Buy
19 Praise and Thanks: XII. Assumpta est Maria 3:13 96/24 Album only
20 Praise and Thanks: XI. Veni sponsa Christi 2:33 96/24 Album only
21 Praise and Thanks: XX. Illumina nos 3:17 96/24 Album only
22 Closing Canticle: Benedictus 4:59 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

© 2013 Harmonia Mundi
℗ 2013 Harmonia Mundi

Renaissance composer Carlo Gesualdo is known for his intensely expressive madrigals and sacred music that use a chromatic language not heard until the late 19th century. Harmonia Mundi commemorates the four hundredth anniversary of his death in 2013, one of Gesualdo’s last works still remains to be discovered: the second book of his Sacrae Cantiones. These motets in six and seven voices have remained unknown due to the fact that several of the vocal parts were lost. James Wood has managed to reconstruct the score for the first time and performs these works as they might have been sung in 1603. Leading the Vocalconsort Berlin, Wood offers illuminating readings of these long-lost gems of the Italian Renaissance.