Girl Graffiti

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Girl Graffiti 44:48 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Falling Down 4:42 $1.49 Buy
2 Girl Graffiti 5:06 $1.49 Buy
3 Dave Sharkey to the Dance Floor 3:41 $1.49 Buy
4 Super 8mm 4:36 $1.49 Buy
5 My Own Cloud 3:31 $1.49 Buy
6 Headboards and Aspirin 4:04 $1.49 Buy
7 Through the Crowd 3:43 $1.49 Buy
8 My Pretty Quirk 3:21 $1.49 Buy
9 Girl Waiting 4:10 $1.49 Buy
10 All My Asshole Friends 3:45 $1.49 Buy
11 Into the Blue 4:09 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

North Carolina native/Brooklyn-resident Jessee made Girl Graffiti with no pressure, only wanting to please his fiercely loyal fan base, his longtime band and himself. Most songs and vocals were tracked live in the summer, some with the band having just learned them moments before, like the gently stunning “My Own Cloud.” Others were finished in the cold of winter, like the album’s Rhodes-driven ballad “Super 8mm,” a true standout track where Jessee paints lyrical pictures that begin with an apropos mention of freshly fallen snow.

The title track of Girl Graffiti is lush-pop perfection, with steadily driving verses and a richly orchestrated chorus, all led by Jessee’s blissfully understated vocals. Longtime fans of Hotel Lights will enjoy some of the looser, seemingly off-the-cuff tracks like “Dave Sharkey to the Dance Floor,” “Through The Crowd” and “All My Asshole Friends” with their nostalgic vibe and sing-along bent (for “All My Asshole Friends”, Jessee and Weatherhead enlisted a live horn section to playfully romp up the verses). In addition to horns, there’s a subtle presence of strings throughout the album, adding even more poetic beauty to a band that innately possesses so much of it already. Girl Graffiti is an album that’s decidedly relaxed and exquisitely shimmering—all at once.