Hard Act To Follow

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Hard Act To Follow 40:34 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Steppin' Out on a Saturday Night [E.C. Scott] 03:10 $1.49 Buy
2 Tell Me About It [E.C. Scott] 03:16 $1.49 Buy
3 Don't Touch Me [E.C. Scott] 04:15 $1.49 Buy
4 Queensize Bed [E.C. Scott] 04:42 $1.49 Buy
5 Lyin' and Cheatin' [E.C. Scott] 04:44 $1.49 Buy
6 Hard Act to Follow [E.C. Scott] 03:08 $1.49 Buy
7 Men Gossip Too [E.C. Scott] 02:39 $1.49 Buy
8 Sweet Man of Mine [E.C. Scott] 03:33 $1.49 Buy
9 Another Night in Paradise [E.C. Scott] 03:05 $1.49 Buy
10 If You're a Good Woman [E.C. Scott] 04:12 $1.49 Buy
11 Missionary Man [E.C. Scott] 03:50 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Recorded in San Francisco, this crisply produced follow-up to female blues singer E.C. Scott's 1995 COME GET YOUR LOVE is as solid an example of contemporary blues practice as one is likely to find anywhere these days. Tasty fills and figures spun by guitarist Early Times infuse this spirited session with a soulful, funky groove in which drummer Curtis Nutall shines particularly. As for Scott herself, she is a no nonsense singer unaffected by overdone blues or soul mannerisms.

Her voice rarely strays from a comfortable mid-range; a touch of Gladys Knight here and there , especially on the softer, subtler numbers. Scott wrote 10 of these 11 tracks, so she has something to say, and the uncluttered production allows her room enough to get her message across directly. Her subjects span the range of domestic sorrows and joys--infidelity, gettin' it on in a "Queensize Bed." "If You're A Good Woman" finds Scott calmly berating a friend's tolerance of domestic abuse. Needless to say, the accompanying music supports these sentiments aptly, so neither Scott nor her songs are overbearing or preachy. Fans of the real life blues take note.

Personnel: E.C. Scott (vocals); Early Times, Tim Landis, Yasutaka Nakajima (guitar); David Halliday, Vincent Lars (saxophone); Tim Hyland (trumpet); Larry Batiste (trombone, background vocals); Keni Williams, Jay Goudeau (bass); Curtis Nutall (drums); Lissa Patterson-Byrd (background vocals). Recorded at Mobius Music, San Francisco and Live Oak Studio, Berkeley, California. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.

"Scott has one of the sexiest, smoothest, and most understated deliveries in the genre and is a powerhouse entertainer to boot. E.C. is a wonderful soul singer and an effective and invigorating blues interpreter." - Blues Revue