Hard Times

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Hard Times 39:07 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 No More My Land 1:16 $1.49 Buy
2 Down in the Hole 2:57 $1.49 Buy
3 Tom Dooley 3:58 $1.49 Buy
4 Flatt Lonesome 4:05 $1.49 Buy
5 Reuben 4:50 $1.49 Buy
6 A Song For Jennifer 2:58 $1.49 Buy
7 Look-Ka Py Py 3:07 $1.49 Buy
8 Hard Times 3:13 $1.49 Buy
9 Ashland Breakdown 3:35 $1.49 Buy
10 One Bad Case of the Blues 3:07 $1.49 Buy
11 How Great Thou Art 3:11 $1.49 Buy
12 Uptown Blues 2:50 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

"Every once and a great while, someone comes along and does an obvious must have recording project. For people who love acoustic music, this is one of those rare times. Rob's a master of the blues lick, something that is very important to the slide guitar. His playing is greasy, subtle, sensuous and powerful all at once. The phrasing is always strong and surprising, whether he is playing a traditional bluegrass number, a gospel song without accompaniment, or a hot-lick driven jazz tune. Surrounding himself with the best musicians you could hope for, the end result is a recording with enough soulful energy and great dynamics to warrant many, many listenings. If you happen to be a resophonic guitar player, you'll spend a lot of those listenings trying to steal his licks!" --Mike Auldridge This album cooks. It sizzles. It crackles with energy. It is joyful - a triumph of sheer musical exuberance, drive, curiosity, enthusiasm, warmth, expressiveness, and expert musicianship. It is a voyage of discovery, of awakening. Listening is like watching a young hawk test its wings and then, unexpectedly, soar fearlessly into a boundless and sunny sky. Hard Times is proof that musical precision can, in fact, go hand in hand with spontaneous, soulful, heartfelt, and emotional playing. A debut solo album this excellent portends many good things down the road for Rob Ickes and his musical associates. It will be fun to watch. -from the liner notes by Jack Tottle