Hartmann, E.: Violin Concerto in G Minor / Cello Concerto in D Minor / Piano Concerto in F Minor

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Hartmann, E.: Violin Concerto in G Minor / Cello Concerto in D Minor / Piano Concerto in F Minor 1:10:09 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I. Allegro 9:10 96/24 Album only
2 II. Andante - Allegretto scherzando - Andante 7:29 96/24 Album only
3 III. Finale 8:36 96/24 Album only
4 I. Allegro moderato - Andantino - Allegro - Andantino - Allegro 9:18 96/24 Album only
5 II. Canzonetta: Andante 3:26 $2.49 Buy
6 III. Rondo pastorale: Allegretto - Andantino 6:08 $2.49 Buy
7 I. Allegro 10:09 96/24 Album only
8 II. Canzonetta: Andante 8:09 96/24 Album only
9 III. Finale: Allegro 7:44 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2005 Dacapo


Emil Hartmann (1836-1898) 

Christina Astrand, violin
Per Salo, piano
Stanimir Todorov, cello
Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra
Hannu Lintu, conductor 

Emil Hartmann experienced great success when he toured Germany and the rest of Europe conducting his own works, and was often compared to the great Romantic masters of the European musical scene. But at home in Denmark the composer was overshadowed throughout his life by his famous father J.P.E. Hartmann, whose centenary we celebrate this year. The writer Hans Christian Andersen actually said of the two Hartmanns that "old Hartmann is a born composer, young Hartmann was brought up to it."

With Dacapo's new SuperAudio recording of Emil Hartmann's three concertos - for violin, cello and piano - we can be in no doubt that the fame that "young Hartmann" enjoyed abroad was more than deserved. Here you can listen to three of the finest Danish soloists today expressing themselves in Emil Hartmann's full-blooded Romantic concertos with the special Nordic element that gives the music unusual melodic beauty.

Recorded September 1-5, 2003 and August 20-21, 2004 at Helsingborg Konserthus in Helsingborg, Sweden.

Producer and recording engineer: Preben Iwan


All three soloists are topflight, DaCapo's hi-res surround cannot be faulted, and one gets a lot of varied concertos for one's investment in this interesting disc.
- Audiophile Audition

This disc is a genuine discovery and earns it a serious recommendation.
- Classics Today